Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Delhi dismiss Assam for 44; Irfan Pathan leads Baroda to big win

Irfan Pathan's unbeaten 49 and two wickets for 19 help Baroda beat Goa in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

By: PTI | Published: January 6, 2016 7:22:18 pm
syed mushtaq ali trophy, syed mushtaq ali trophy score, syed mushtaq cricket, irfan pathan, pathan, virender sehwag, cricket score, cricket news, cricket Irfan Pathan took wickets and gave away only 19 runs against Goa. (Source: Reuters file)

Delhi crushed Assam by eight wickets in a Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 group league encounter, courtesy impressive performances by medium pacer Subodh Bhati and off-spinner Shivam Sharma, who shared seven wickets between themselves.

Delhi captain Gautam Gambhir’s decision to bowl was vindicated by his bowlers as they decimated Assam for a platry 44 in 12.1 overs. Seamer Bhati coming in as second change snared 4/9 in 3 overs while former Kings XI Punjab player Shivam had 3/7 in 3.1 overs. Pradeep Sangwan (2/21) provided initial breakthroughs.

In reply, Delhi knocked off the runs in 9.1 overs despite another failure from India discard Gambhir (10).

His deputy Unmukt Chand hit an unbeaten 29 off 28 balls with a four and two huge sixes.

This was Delhi’s fourth win in the tournament and are almost certain to enter the quarter-final of the tournament with 16 points in their kitty.

Brief Scores: Assam 44 in 12.1 overs (Shib Sankar Roy 16, Subodh Bhati 4/9, Shivam Sharma 3/7) Delhi 50/2 in 9.1 overs (Unmukt Chand 29 no). Delhi won by 8 wickets.

Pathan leads Baroda to to big win over Goa

Skipper Irfan Pathan led from the front with an unbeaten 49 and two wickets to help Baroda maintain an unbeaten run in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy so far after thrashing a hapless Goa by 72 runs in the Group C Twenty20 cricket match here today.

Put into bat at the Moti Bagh Stadium, Baroda, who registered their third consecutive win, posted a respectable 154 for two in 20 overs and then packed Goa for a paltry 82 runs in 15.4 overs to bag four points.



Brief Scores: Baroda 154/2 in 20 overs (Irfan Pathan 49 not out, Hardik Pandya 38 not out; Darshan Misal 2-25) Goa 82 all out in 15.4 overs (Deepraj Gaonkar 48; Irfan Pathan 2-19, Rishi Arothe 2-7, Hardik Pandya 2-14)

Parthiv, Jasprit script easy 8-wkt win for Gujarat vs Bengal

Skipper Parthiv Patel hit a quickfire 52 off 32 balls while speedster Jasprit Bumrah scalped three wickets as Gujarat comfortably beat Bengal by eight wickets in a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Group A encounter.

Batting first, Bengal batting flopped for the second time in four matches with entire side being bundled out for 101 in 19.2 overs.

Brief Scores: Bengal 101 in 19.1 overs (Debabrata Das 22, Ashok Dinda 22, Rohit Dahiya 3/14, Jasprit Bumrah 3/16) Gujarat 104/2 in 11.5 overs (Parthiv Patel 52).

Hyderabad beat Haryana by 35 runs to register 2nd win

Hyderabad registered a comfortable 35-run win over Haryana to record their second win in Group A of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Twenty20 cricket tournament.

Opting to bat, the top four Hyderabad batsmen scored double digit scores to help their side post a competitive 173 for eight in their alloted 20 overs.

Brief Scores: Hyderabad: 173 for eight in 20 overs (Hanuma Vihari 44; Yuzvendra Chahahl 3/43). Haryana: 138 for seven in 20 overs (Nitin Saini 30; Hanuma Vihari 2/13).

Pargat propels Punjab to seven-wicket win 

Pargat Singh scored an unbeaten 60 in Punjab’s seven wicket win over Jharkhand in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy.

Punjab dismissed Jharkhand for 104 after winning the toss and chased down the modest target in 17.3 overs.

Opener Pargat Singh ensured his team reach home comfortably with other contributions coming from Gitansh Khera (22) and Harbhajan Singh (10).

It was Punjab’s second win in three games.

Brief scores: Jharkhand 104/9 in 20 overs (Virat Singh 41; Siddharth Kaul 2/31). Punjab 105/3 in 17.3 overs (Pargat Singh 60 not out; Prakash Seet 2/31)

Madhya Pradesh pummel Railways for third win

Madhya Pradesh outplayed Railways by six wickets in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy here today.

Madhya Pradesh put Railways in to bat and dismissed them for 103 with Ashwin Das (4/10) being the stand out bowler.

The chase was comfortable as Jalaj Saxena (37 not out) guided them home in 16.2 overs with six wickets in hand.

Brief scores: Railways 103 in 20 overs (Saurabh Wakaskar 28; Ashwin Das 4/10). Madhya Pradesh: 104/4 in 16.2 overs (Zafar Ali 36, Jalaj Saxena 37 not out; Karn Sharma 2/28)

Sharma, Fazal ensure comfortable win for Vidarbha over TN

Wicketkeeper Jitesh Sharma and skipper Faiz Fazal put on a match-winning opening partnership to guide Vidarbha to a comfortable seven-wicket victory over Tamil Nadu in Group A match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Twenty20 cricket tournament.

Chasing 151 for a victory, Sharma (73 off 47) and Fazal (45 off 37) put on 87 runs for the opening stand to set the base for Vidarbha’s win.

Brief Scores: Tamil Nadu: 150 for eight in 20 overs (Baba Aparajith 41; Ravikumar Thakur 2/22). Vidarbha: Jitesh Sharma 73, Faiz Fazal 45; Rahiul Shah 2/31)

Kerala outplay Saurashtra by 50 runs

Rohan Prem struck a fine fifty before the bowlers made their presence felt to help Kerala outplay Saurashtra by 50 runs in the Group B Twenty20 cricket match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Put into bat at the St. Paul’s College Ground, Kerala rode on Prem’s quick fire 56 to post a challenging 165 for nine in 20 overs and then the bowlers joined forces to restrict Kerala to 115 for nine.

Brief Scores: Kerala 165/9 in 20 overs (Rohan Prem 56, Sachin Baby 43; Jaydev Unadkat 3-23) Saurashtra 115/9 in 20 overs (Jaydev Unadkat 32, Cheteshwar Pujara 26; Unnikrishnan Manukrishnan 3-11, Padmanabhan Prasanth 3-13)

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App