Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Delhi defend 91 to book quarters berth

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Delhi defend 91 to book quarters berth

Defending a modest total, debutant Akash Sudan held his nerves to bowl a tight over at the death and pick two crucial wickets in the process.

Delhi produced a disciplined bowling display as they defended a small total to beat Goa by a narrow two runs and qualify for the knock-out rounds of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20.

Put into bat, Delhi top-order batsmen, including captain and opener Gautam Gambhir (4), came a cropper as they posted a mere 91 all out in 19.2 overs at the Moti Bagh Stadium here.

Left-arm spinner Shadab Jakati (5/17) ran through the Delhi middle and lower order batting line-up after Lakshay Garg (2/5) inflicted early damage in the Group C match.

Delhi did not have any substantial partnership as only three of their batsmen could reach double-digit figures with Milind Kumar top-scoring with a 29-ball 19. Opener Unmukt Chand (15) and Shivam Sharma (12) are the other main contributors.


Chasing 92 for a win, Goa could score 89 for 9 in the face a disciplined bowling show by Delhi. The Goans also suffered a batting collapse as only two batsmen could score in double digits.

Saurabh Bandekar top-scored with a 28-ball 31 not out while Swapnil Asnodkar contributed 21.

For Delhi, pacer Parvinder Awana grabbed three wickets for 21 runs while Akash Sudan, playing his first game, was tight with figures of 2/10. Pradeep Sangwan, Pawan Negi and Suboth Bhati got a wicket apiece.

With four points from today’s win, Delhi have secured 20 points from five matches to book a quarterfinal berth with one match left to be played.

Brief Scores: Delhi: 91 all out in (19.2 overs (Milind Kumar 19; Shadab Jakati 5/17) Goa: 89/9 in 20 overs (Saurabh Bandekar 31 not out; Parvinder Awana 3/21)

HP record comfortable win

Himachal Pradesh brightened their prospects of advancing to the knockout stage of the national T20 championship for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy after recording a comfortable six-wicket win over Tamil Nadu.

Batting at number three, Paras Dogra top-scored for Himachal with a swashbuckling 33-ball 79, guiding the side home in its chase of 169 with as many as 19 balls to spare at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground.

Chasing a challenging target after opting to bowl, Dogra led the way for Himachal, blasting seven boundaries and five sixes, as they raced to 173 for four in 16.5 overs when the winning runs were hit in the Group A game of the Twenty20 meet.

Haryana end winless run

Nitin Saini’s unbeaten 74 and Amit Mishra’s four-wicket haul helped Haryana notch up their first victory of the tournament as they beat Bengal by 17 runs in a Group A Twenty20 cricket match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Though both the team are out of contention for a knockout berth and are jostling for the bottom position in the points table, it was a morale-lifting win for Haryana given the terrible run they have endured so far in the tournament.

Baroda book quarters berth

Baroda batsman made heavy weather of a modest run-chase to scrape past Andhra Pradesh by three wickets in their penultimate Group C Twenty20 league match.


Baroda, alongwith with table-toppers Delhi, have remained unbeaten in their five league games to secure their respective quarter-finals spots.