Follow Us:
Thursday, March 04, 2021

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, Bihar vs Rajasthan Highlights: Rajasthan set up semifinal against Tamil Nadu

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, Bihar vs Rajasthan Highlights: Rajasthan beat Bihar in the fourth quarterfinal.

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: January 27, 2021 10:20:47 pm
SMAT semifinalsSyed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Semifinal 1: Tamil Nadu vs Rajasthan. (File Photo)

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, Bihar vs Rajasthan Highlights: Rajasthan beat Bihar in the last quarterfinal of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy on Wednesday to set up a semifinal clash against Tamil Nadu. Mahipal Lomror’s unbeaten 78 off 37 balls set Bihar a stiff target of 165. Rajasthan strangled the Bihar chase from the outset, and even though Mangal Mahrour (68* off 58) tried setting up a final assault, they fell short by 16 runs to finish with 148/4.

Both Bihar and Rajasthan had come into the game having topped their groups, and though they are not among the heavyweights, were looking to punch above their weight to reach the penultimate stage of the tournament.

Live Blog

Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy quarterfinal: Bihar vs Rajasthan Highlights

22:18 (IST)27 Jan 2021
Rajasthan win by 16 runs

It's Aniket Choudhary and his yorkers for the last over of the chase, with Bihar needing a miracle. There are a few swings and misses in the last over but it is Rajasthan who win it and seal a semifinal place against Tamil Nadu. Bihar finish with 148/4 in reply to Rajasthan's 164.

22:11 (IST)27 Jan 2021
Bihar need 27 in 1 over

Mahrour smashes Bishnoi for one six but runs are still hard to come by for Bihar. Rajasthan bring back Khaleel Ahmed to finish off the job, but he concedes a couple of unlucky boundaries. 

BIH 138/4 after 19

21:57 (IST)27 Jan 2021
50 for Mangal Mahrour

Bishnoi finds his line in his second spell. Mahrour gets to his 50, slashing the spinner for four to get to the mark, off 48 balls. Follows it up with another boundary. But Bishnoi claims a wicket at the other end. Bowls out Rahmatullah. Gone for 9.

BIH 109/4 after 15.5

21:43 (IST)27 Jan 2021
Bihar need 81 in 7 overs

Another wicket falls as Gani goes for the lofted drive but finds the hands of the fielder. Menaria sneaks in an over himself, off which 10 runs come. Mangal Mahrour moves into his 30s. He is all that stands between Rajasthan and victory now, with the required run rate inching towards 12.

BIH 84/3 after 13

21:32 (IST)27 Jan 2021
Bihar need 98 in 10 overs

Mangal Mahrour, in the middle for more than 20 balls now, tries to make a statement, steps out to the spinner and smashes a six. The turn of the ball is creating some trouble for the Bihar batsmen at the moment. 

BIH 67/2 after 10

21:22 (IST)27 Jan 2021
Rajasthan bring on their spin wealth

KXIP phenomenon Ravi Bishnoi is brought into the attack to compound Bihar's worries in the sixth over but it turns out to be an over that lasts for an eternity. Four wides in the over as the youngster struggles to find his line. But it's Bishnoi who makes up in the next over, with a direct hit to get Babul Kumar run out.Gone for 24. Rajasthan stick to spin, with Mahipal Lomror now, on this slow-ish track.

BIH 47/2 after 7.3

21:09 (IST)27 Jan 2021
Khaleel, Aniket bring it back for Rajasthan

Khaleel Ahmed and Aniket Choudhary are now bowling in tandem for Rajasthan, turning the screws on Bihar after that initial 13-run over. The run rate dips below 6 as Bihar look to play out the danger bowlers. 

BIH 29/1 after 5

20:55 (IST)27 Jan 2021
Eventful start to chase

The Bihar chase begins and it begins with a bang! Babul Kumar smashes 13 runs in the first over of the innings. Anikt Choudhary bowls the 2nd over and runs are immediately harder to come by. The first wicket falls too! Rathour is out for a duck.

BIH 14/1 after 2

20:33 (IST)27 Jan 2021
Rajasthan put up 164/5, Mahipal Lomror stays unbeaten on 78

Lomror goes into fifth gear as the innings comes to a close but keeps losing partners. Gets to his 50 with a boundary. Lomror then does his best to hog the strike in the last over, and smashes two sixes in the over to finish off. Lomror ends with 78* off 37 balls. Rajasthan put up 164/5 in 20 overs. Bihar will chase 165 for a semifinal spot.

20:21 (IST)27 Jan 2021
Lomror takes Rajasthan towards big total

Lamba tries to break free - hits a six to start off the 16th over. But is then caught out. Gone for 38. Rajesh Bishnoi then comes and quickly falls for 3. Lomror then accelerates at the other end. Plunders 10 runs off the 18th over and moves to 48.

RAJ 129/4 after 18

20:05 (IST)27 Jan 2021
Lomror, Lamba put on partnership

Lomror carries on attacking from one end while Lamba holds on at the other. Rajasthan cross 100 in the 15th over, with Lomror, despite having played less than half the balls as Lamba, is catching up with his partner. Lamba on 38, Lomror on 32.

RAJ 103/2 after 15

19:52 (IST)27 Jan 2021
Lomror enters with a bang

Skipper Menaria departs for a first ball duck. Slashes through the off side but gets a thin edge. Mahipal Lomror joins Lamba, who has been holding one end up sedately, and starts off with a bang. A six and a four in his first few balls.

RAJ 82/2 after 12

19:39 (IST)27 Jan 2021
First wicket

As the spinner Samar Quadri is brought on, Baharat Sharma goes big again. Is making it a habit to smash the last ball of the over for a six. Tries to go for a big shot to end the 9th over too but Ashutosh Aman gets the better of him this time. Bowls him out. Bharat Sharma departs for a valuable 38. Ashok Menaria enters at 3.

RAJ 59/1 after 9

19:31 (IST)27 Jan 2021
Bihar still wicketless

Bharat Sharma belts the last ball of the Powerplay into the stands for what is the first six of the match. Rajasthan put up 42 runs in the Powerplay overs, but importantly, without the loss of wickets. There's a slight dip in the scoring rate after the Powerplay though.

RAJ 46/0 after 7

19:18 (IST)27 Jan 2021
Steady start

Rajasthan open their innings with Bharat Sharma and Ankit Lamba. Anuj Raj and Rahul Kumar open the bowling for Bihar. And it is the batting side which has the best of the initial exchanges. A few boundaries and a few singles stolen through. 

RAJ 28/0 after 4

19:02 (IST)27 Jan 2021
Rajasthan to bat first

Rajasthan have won the toss and have opted to bat.

Rajasthan (Playing XI): Bharat Sharma(w), Ankit Lamba, Ashok Menaria(c), Rajesh Bishnoi, Arjit Gupta, Mahipal Lomror, Chandrapal Singh, Ravi Bishnoi, Aniket Choudhary, Khaleel Ahmed, Akash Singh

Bihar (Playing XI): Mangal Mahrour, Shasheem Rathour, Babul Kumar, S Gani, MD Rahmatullah, Vikash Yadav(w), Anuj Raj, Samar Quadri, Ashutosh Aman(c), Suraj Kashyap, Rahul Kumar

18:34 (IST)27 Jan 2021
Last quarterfinal

There was a nailbiter of a quarter final earlier today, when a 6,4,6 barrage ended things in the last over of the chase courtesy Vishnu Solanki. The last quarterfinal of this year's tournament will come up in less than half an hour now.

Bihar Squad: Mangal Mahrour, Shasheem Rathour, Babul Kumar, S Gani, MD Rahmatullah, Akash Raj, Vikash Yadav(w), Anuj Raj, Samar Quadri, Ashutosh Aman(c), Mohit Kumar, Vikash Ranjan, Yashasvi Rishav, Sachin Kumar, Amod Yadav, Harsh Raj, Shashi Anand, Vibhooti Bhaskar, Suraj Kashyap, Rahul Kumar, Vikash Patel, Apurva Anand, Mohit Kumar

Rajasthan Squad: Bharat Sharma(w), Ankit Lamba, Ashok Menaria(c), Rajesh Bishnoi, Arjit Gupta, Mahipal Lomror, Deepak Chahar, Rahul Chahar, Ravi Bishnoi, Aniket Choudhary, Khaleel Ahmed, Tanveer-Ul-Haq, Aditya Garhwal, Manender Narender Singh, Chandrapal Singh, Salman Khan, Yash Kothari, Akash Singh, Rajat Choudhary