Follow Us:
Sunday, February 28, 2021

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy QF2, Tamil Nadu vs Himachal Pradesh Highlights: Baba Aparajith takes TN to semi

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy QF2, Tamil Nadu vs Himachal Pradesh Highlights: The Dinesh Karthik-led side continue their winning run in the tournament.

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: January 26, 2021 10:33:07 pm
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy QF2

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy QF2, Tamil Nadu vs Himachal Pradesh Highlights: Tamil Nadu beat Himachal Pradesh in the second quarter-final of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy on Tuesday at the Motera Stadium in Ahmedabad. Himachal scored 135/9, batting first, before Tamil Nadu, despite some early scares, were taken over the line by Baba Aparajith (52*) with 2.1 over to spare.

The Dinesh Karthik-led side had won all of their five matches in the group stage, while the Rishi Dhawan-led unit had lost just once in their group against table-toppers Baroda. Punjab have already booked their spot in the semi-finals with a nine-wicket win over defending champions Karnataka earlier in the day.

Live Blog

SMAT 2021, Tamil Nadu vs Himachal Pradesh Highlights:

22:28 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Tamil Nadu win by 5 wickets

It looked like an upset was on the cards for a while in this match, but Tamil nadu have made the chase a cakewalk with some attacking shots in the middle overs. Baba Aparajith hits the winning runs and he does it with a six. Tamil Nadu have won by 5 wickets with 2.1 overs to spare.

22:22 (IST)26 Jan 2021
TN need 11 runs in 3 overs

The attack comes! And it comes from Baba Aparajith first and then Shahrukh Khan. Just as Himachal were looking to turn the screws, there is an 18-run over off Vaibhav Arora, the man who made the early inroads. Shahrukh Khan keeps hitting the big shots against Mayank Dagar as well. This chase has suddenly achieved very chaseable proportions.

TN 125/5 after 17

22:02 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Dinesh Karthik falls cheaply

A quiet partnership builds in the Tamil Nadu middle order before there's the wicket Himachal need. Dinesh Karthik enters at number 5. But it's Karthik who falls for 2. This spells trouble for Tamil Nadu. Baba Aparajith is still there but is fast running out of partners.

TN 68/5 after 13

21:28 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Tamil Nadu try to rebuild

Baba Aparajith and Sonu Yadav try to bring some normalcy to proceedings, they play out the later half of the Powerplay overs without much risk. Sonu ends the Powerplay with a driven boundary.

TN 36/3 after 6

21:16 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Vaibhav Arora crashes through TN

N Jagadeesan is out in the second over of the Tamil Nadu chase. Clean bowled through an inswinging yorker. That's a big wicket for the underdogs at the outset. Rishi Dhawan and Vaibhav Arora open the bowling, and it's Arora who picks up two more wickets in his second over. Tamil Nadu are tottering. Arun Karthik and Hari Nishanth are out cheaply. 

TN 25/3 after 4

20:45 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Himachal put up 135/9 in 20 overs

Jaiswal hits a six but is then caught out in an attempt to hit a helicopter shot. And that follows another wicket via a run out. Rishi Dhawan takes strike as the innings come to an end. Ends the innings with a boundary. Himachal Pradesh end at 135/9 in 20 overs. Dhawan stays unbeaten on 35.

Tamil Nadu need 136 to win

20:24 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Rishi Dhawan keeps losing partners

Rishi Dhawan is trying to resurrect the Himachal innings but is now losing partners as the middle overs end. Thakur falls for 16 after another top edge balloons off his bat. Sonu Yadav then comes back into the attack and picks up his second wicket - this one also clean bowled. Ayush Jamwal is gone for 4. Pankaj Jaiswal joins Dhawan.

HP 113/5 after 17

20:00 (IST)26 Jan 2021
HP scoring rate takes a beating

Nitin Sharma's plodding innings comes to an end. Gets out caught to a top edge. Gone for 26. Skipper Rishi Dhawan enters the stage at number 5. Tamil Nadu continue with spin, with the slower bowlers keeping a leash on the scoring.

HP 78/3 after 13

19:41 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Tamil Nadu strangle with spin

Rana's attack comes to an end with a run out. Rana falls for 28 off 26 balls. Thakur comes in at 4. Tamil Nadu continue with spin, Murugan Ashwin is now into the attack. 

HP 46/2 after 9

19:28 (IST)26 Jan 2021
End of Powerplay

Nitin Sharma is the new man in for Himachal. Tamil Nadu bring on their spinners. Sai Kishore and Baba Aparajith start turning the screws on the pitch. The batsmen take some time to play the spinners and what had started off on an attacking note ends up being a conservative Powerplay. 

HP 31/1 after 6

19:16 (IST)26 Jan 2021
First wicket

Rana is off to a flier at the other end though. Slams Warrier through the gaps for two fours in his second over. Himachal Pradesh get off to a great start. But then there's the first wicket. Chopra's luck runs out. Sonu Yadav bowls him out. Gone for 6.

HP 24/1 after 3.2

19:12 (IST)26 Jan 2021
HP innings begins

Abhimanyu Rana and Prashant Chopra are the two Himachal openers as the first innings begins. Sandeep Warrier bowls the first over and there is a dropped chance at fine leg in the first over. And Chopra is again dropped in the 2nd over. Tamil Nadu have dropped 2 catches in 2 overs.

HP 16/0 after 2

18:53 (IST)26 Jan 2021

Himachal Pradesh XI: Abhimanyu Rana, RI Thakur, Ekant Sen, Rishi Dhawan(c), Prashant Chopra(w), Digvijay Rangi, Nitin Sharma, Ayush Jamwal, Vaibhav Arora, Mayank Dagar, Pankaj Jaiswal

Tamil Nadu XI: Hari Nishanth, N Jagadeesan, Arun Karthik, Dinesh Karthik(w/c), Baba Aparajith, Shahrukh Khan, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, M Mohammed, Murugan Ashwin, Sonu Yadav, Sandeep Warrier

18:51 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Himachal to bat first

The toss is done. Himachal have been sent in to bat first after Tamil Nadu win the toss. 

18:21 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Tamil Nadu vs Himachal Pradesh

Heavyweights Tamil Nadu and surprise package Himachal Pradesh. The odds are heavily stacked against the mountain men at the Motera stadium for today's second clash. Toss and team news expected in 10 more minutes.

Match to start at 7 pm

Tamil Nadu Squad: Hari Nishanth, N Jagadeesan, Arun Karthik, Dinesh Karthik (w/c), Baba Aparajith, Shahrukh Khan, M Mohammed, Murugan Ashwin, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, G Periyaswamy, Sandeep Warrier, Vijay Shankar, Aswin Crist, Baba Indrajith, Laxmesha Suryaprakash, Jagatheesan Kousik, Jaganath Sinivas, Sonu Yadav, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, Manimaran Siddharth

Himachal Pradesh Squad: Mani Sharma (w), Abhimanyu Rana, RI Thakur, Ekant Sen, Rishi Dhawan (c), Digvijay Rangi, Nitin Sharma, Ayush Jamwal, Vaibhav Arora, Mayank Dagar, Pankaj Jaiswal, Prashant Chopra, Amit Kumar, Kanwar Abhinay Singh, Ankush Bedi, Arpit Guleria, Akash Vashist