Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera spin Sri Lanka to historic series win over Australia

Dilruwan Perera bagged a total of 10 wickets in the second Test match during the course of their win over visitors Australia.

By: Express Web Desk | Updated: August 7, 2016 2:20:28 am

Sri Lanka vs Australia, SL vs Aus, Aus vs SL, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Mitchell Starc, sports news, sports, cricket news, Cricket Sri Lanka won the second Test match by 229 runs against Australia. (Source: AP)

Sri lanka registered a historic series win at Galle over Australia after the home team clinched victory by 229 runs. This is the the first ever time when Sri lanka have won a Test series against the Aussies. Riding on unsung hero of the side Dilruwan Perera who bagged six wickets in the second innings, the Lankan lions started demolishing the Australian batting right from the beginnings.

Sri lanka now lead the three-match Test series 2-0.

Earlier Sri lanka after winning the toss, elected to bat first and scored 281 runs, in reply, Australians were totally outplayed by the hosts. They were clinical in their approach while bolwing in the first innings. Rangana Herath’s hat-trick in the first innings put the base of Sri Lanka’s win. Courtesy Hertha’s spell, the vistors were bundled out for a mere total of 106 runs.

Sri Lanka in the second innings began the proceedings in aggressive fashion. Though, the wickets kept on tumbling but their run-rate never genrally dropped. they ended their second innings at 237 runs to set Australia a target of 413 runs.

Australia had the most miserbale starts as they were left tottering at 10/3 losing opener Adam Voges, Usman Khawaja and Nathan Lyon early during the course of the chase. Kangaroos then ended day 2 at 25/3 with skipper Steve Smith and David Warner at the crease.

Day 3’s start saw a different strategy from the Australian captain and his deputy. They tried to take on the bowling attack and were a bit successful as well. But soon the pair was undone by Perera’s spin web. Australia saw a flurry of wickets and more than half a side was back in the hut before lunch on day 3. Not much of a time was wasted by the Sri Lankan bowlers as they bowled Australia out for 183 to win the match and series.

Perera bagged a total of 10 wickets in the match while Australia had something to cheer about as the Aussie quicker bowler had 11 scalps in the Test match.

This is Australia’s 8th loss on the trot in the sub-continent.

Sri Lanka will be the holders of the Warne-Muralitharan Trophy for the first time since its inception

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App