scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Shubhman Gill argues with umpire to reverse decision after being given out

Shubman Gill got his dismissal overturned after arguing with the on-field umpire during Punjab's Ranji Trophy match vs Delhi. However, this led to a stoppage of play for around 10 minutes.

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: January 4, 2020 8:45:01 am
Shubman Gill scored 23 runs before losing his wicket to Simarjeet Singh (Source: Twitter)

Shubman Gill got his dismissal overturned after arguing with the on-field umpire during Punjab’s Ranji Trophy encounter against Delhi on Friday, leading to a stoppage of play that lasted around 10 minutes.

Gill, the current white-ball captain of the India A team, refused to leave the crease after he was adjudged caught-behind off Subodh Bhati. An argument with the umpire followed and the batsman was reinstated after a discussion between the on-field officials.

Gill might have invited controversy because of some claims that he abused the umpire after being given out. However, the Punjab Cricket administration has said that Gill did not abuse the umpire and just told him that he had not edged the ball.

Gill was batting on 10 then. Gill didn’t last long as he edged one off Simarjeet Singh to Anuj Rawat for 23 off 41 balls with the team’s score on 60.

Best of Express Premium
Rationalisation, reforms may test Centre-state relations at GST meetPremium
Clampdown and unclear policy prompt crypto exchange founders to leave IndiaPremium
Explained: What is the 2/3rds rule in anti-defection law?Premium
UPSC Key-June 27, 2022: Know the relevance of ‘Deputy Speaker’ to ‘Nation...Premium

“The straight umpire (Mohammed Rafi) had adjudged Shubman caught behind and the batsman then walked up to the umpire and was seen having an argument asking him to reverse his decision. The straight umpire then consulted the square-leg umpire (Paschim Pathak) and reversed his decision,” Delhi team manager Vivek Khurana told PTI.

Watch IE video:

Asked if there was any plan for a walk-out by the visiting side, Khurana absolutely denied any such move.

“Our skipper (Nitish) Rana just asked the umpires as to why they overturned the initial decision. We never walked out. The match referee (Ranganathan) came in and play resumed as usual,” Khurana added.

DDCA general secretary Vinod Tihara said: “The match was halted for seven to eight minutes. There was nothing untoward. Our boys felt that Gill was out and that’s why they asked the umpires why the decision was reversed.”

Senior Punjab Cricket Association official GS Walia said, “Gill just told the umpire that he had not nicked the ball. All of us have seen Shubman, he is a very polite and calm boy.”

Whether Gill faces any sanction for arguing with the umpire will only be known after the fourth day’s play.

(With PTI inputs)

Express Subscription Do not hit the wall, subscribe for the best coverage out of India starting at just $5 per month

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement