Follow Us:
Monday, February 24, 2020

Sachin Tendulkar versus Brian Lara in Road Safety World Series opener

Sachin Tendulkar recently faced one over from Ellyse Perry and Annabel Sutherland during the innings-break of Bushfire bash whereas Brian Lara scored an unbeaten 30 for Ponting XI

By: PTI | Mumbai | Published: February 13, 2020 3:07:42 pm
Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara will go up against each other on March 7 (File photo)

Two of the biggest names in world cricket — legendary Sachin Tendulkar and West Indian Brian Lara — will once again be up against each other for a noble cause. The two champion players will clash against each other in the opening game of the ‘Unacademy Road Safety World
Series’, a T20 tournament, when India Legends will take on West Indies Legends at Wankhede Stadium here on March 7.

As per the series schedule released on Thursday, a total of 11 matches will be played in the tournament. The series will feature some big names in cricket from India, Australia, Sri Lanka, West Indies and South Africa like Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan, Brian Lara, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Brett Lee, Brad Hodge, Jonty Rhodes, Muttiah Muralitharan, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Ajantha

According to the organisers, the series aims to create awareness about road safety.

Watch: Sachin Tendulkar bats after five and a half years, faces Ellyse Perry in Bushfire Bash

Two of these 11 matches will be played at Wankhede, four at the Maharashtra Cricket Association stadium in Pune, four at D Y Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai and the final game will be played at Brabourne Stadium here on March 22.

Watch: Brian Lara, Ricky Ponting rewind time with sixes in Bushfire Bash

Pune will host two India matches (against South Africa Legends on March 14 and Australia Legends on March 20), while Wankhede and D Y Patil will host one match each featuring the host team.

India Legends led by Tendulkar will play against Sri Lanka Legends at D Y Patil on March 10.

Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar is the commissioner of the series and the games will commence at 7 pm.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.