Rishabh Pant commits ‘schoolboy error’, redeems himself laterhttps://indianexpress.com/article/sports/cricket/rishabh-pant-stumping-schoolboy-error-redeems-himself-later-6108554/

Rishabh Pant commits ‘schoolboy error’, redeems himself later

Rishabh Pant was criticized for his 'schoolboy error' of collecting the ball in front of the stumps before effecting a stumping. However, Pant redeemed himself by effecting a run out and a stumping off the same bowler later in the innings.

Rishabh Pant runs out Liton Das in the 2nd T20I between India and Bangladesh in Rajkot on Thursday (IANS Photo)

The drama over Rishabh Pant’s stumping attempts was the dominant topic of discussion during Thursday’s T20I between India and Bangladesh in Rajkot. Pant made the error of collecting the ball in front of the stumps before trying to effect a stumping in Yuzvendra Chahal’s first over, inviting criticism on social media.

However, Pant redeemed himself with two excellent dismissals in the subsequent overs bowled by Chahal. In Chahal’s next over, he came up with what looked like a classic distraction ploy. He failed to collect the ball but still went up for a loud appeal. The batsman, possibly thrown off by the volume of his appeal, was thrown off and went for a risky single.

Pant was quick to react. He dived towards the ball and threw the ball at the stumps to get Liton Das run out, and got India their first wicket of the match.

There was redemption in Chahal’s third over as well, as Pant – this time successfully – stumped Soumya Sarkar, as Bangladesh found themselves in a spot of bother.

However, there was drama surrounding this stumping as well. On this occasion as well, Pant had collected the ball just behind the stumps.

The TV umpire lingered over the replay of the collection for a while, and to the shock of Indian fans, ‘Not Out’ was the signal flashed on the giant screen again. Sarkar started walking back to the pitch, but the signal then changed to ‘Out’ on the screen. The batsman was then escorted off the field by the fourth umpire.

Watch: Frustrated Rohit Sharma swears as third umpire mistakenly gives Soumya Sarkar not out

Batting first, Bangladesh managed to post 153/6. However, Rohit Sharma decimated the Bangladesh bowling during his 43-ball 85 that had six sixes and as many fours. His fifty came off just 23 deliveries.