Follow Us:
Wednesday, December 01, 2021

Ranji Trophy 2020 Final Day 3, Saurashtra vs Bengal Highlights: Saha, Chatterjee keep Bengal steady

Ranji Trophy 2020 Final, Saurashtra vs Bengal Final Highlights: Bengal have ended Day 3 at 134/3 on Day 3 against Saurashtra, trailing by 291 runs.

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: March 11, 2020 5:38:34 pm
Ranji Trophy Final, Saurashtra vs Bengal Highlights: Pujara played a 66-run knock on Day 2.

Ranji Trophy 2020 Final, Saurashtra vs Bengal Highlights: Bengal have ended Day 3 at 134/3 on Wednesday in the Ranji Trophy final against Saurashtra, trailing by 291 runs. Sudeep Chatterjee and Wriddhiman Saha will resume the Bengal innings on Day 4. Manoj Tiwary and Chatterjee had built a partnership for Bengal, but Tiwary’s late wicket has given Saurashtra the edge in the final.

After Arpit Vasavada scored a second successive hundred while Cheteshwar Pujara slammed a patient half-century, Chirag Jani and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja had begun Day 3 for Saurashtra. Vasavada scored 106 off 287 deliveries and shared a 142-run partnership with India Test specialist Pujara, who recovered from fever which forced him to retire hurt on the first day.

Live Blog

Ranji Trophy 2020 Final Day 3 Highlights:

17:10 (IST)11 Mar 2020
Stumps: End of Day 3

End of play on the third day of the Ranji Trophy final. Sudip Chatterjee and Wriddhiman Saha take Bengal to the end of the day. Bengal are 134/3 at the end of Day 3, trailing Saurashtra by 291 runs.

16:45 (IST)11 Mar 2020
Loud shout for LBW

Saha Survives! Big relief for Bengal as the umpire reckons height is an issue. Unadkat's delivery came back in and Saha was caught on the move - brought his bat down with the angle, was pad first, but Saha was a long way down the pitch - the ball struck him above the knee-roll as well, think it's a good call in the end. Score after 62 overs BEN 133/3

16:07 (IST)11 Mar 2020
Manoj Tiwary falls

Chirag Jani over-stepped when he cleaned up Manoj Tiwary but he has taken the wicket of Bengal's most experienced batsman. He added 17 more runs in his kitty. Jani has finally got rid of Manoj Tiwary for 35, Bengal are 124/3

15:21 (IST)11 Mar 2020
100 up for Bengal

Bengal digging in after the initial setbacks. A fluid drive from the bat of Tiwary as Unadkat pitches it wide outside off. The ball is past the extra cover region but Sheldon Jackson is there to protect it from crossing the boundary. 3 runs and with that Bengal reach 100. Score after 44 overs
BEN 104-2

14:57 (IST)11 Mar 2020
It's Tea on Day 3

A much better session for Bengal as they end on 94/2 after 42 ovs. 


14:50 (IST)11 Mar 2020
Saurashtra lose review

Dharmendrasinh Jadeja to Chatterjee and there is a loud shout for lbw! Saurashtra review: It is for a bat-pad catch. Jadeja did not seem interested but the close in fielders have asked Unadkat to go for the review. Fair delivery. Right off the flap of the pad and straight to short leg. Not Out!

14:42 (IST)11 Mar 2020
Some Insane Numbers


14:30 (IST)11 Mar 2020
Prerak Mankad back into the attack

Concedes just two runs of the over and Bengal continues to move at a snails pace. For the neutral viewers, this match is slowly taking a toll with social media users calling it 'boring'. "Exactly the tactics Mourinho applied to win trophies! I Aesthetics go out of the window! Slow death for a neutral," says Abir on Twitter.

14:21 (IST)11 Mar 2020
Manoj Tiwary bowled on a no-ball

Chirag Jani had the biggest wicket of the game - Manoj Tiwari. Until the third umpire ruled no ball. This is basic school boy stuff. But what a massive escape for Bengal and Tiwary. Score after 36 overs BEN 80/2


14:04 (IST)11 Mar 2020

The third-wicket stand has so far fetched 29 runs off 85 balls for the visitors. Bengal 64/2 (29 overs) trail Saurashtra (425) by 361 runs in Rajkot. Manoj Tiwary (14*), Sudip Chatterjee (10*)

13:29 (IST)11 Mar 2020
Maiden from Mankad

Sudip survives a close run-out chance before Bengal bring up the team 50! Bengal 51/2 (23 overs) trail Saurashtra (425) by 374 runs in Rajkot. Manoj Tiwary (13*), Sudip Chatterjee (2*). Pretty slow going so far for Bengal.

12:59 (IST)11 Mar 2020
Big session coming up for Bengal

Back again live! Manoj Tiwary, right-handed bat, comes to the creaseDharmendrasinh Jadeja to bowl with a slip, FSL and silly-point are the close-in fielders.

12:45 (IST)11 Mar 2020
Quite an effort!
12:21 (IST)11 Mar 2020
Time for some lunch!

And with that dismissal, the umpire have called for the end of the first session. So far, it has seen 74 runs and four wickets. Bengal still trail Saurashtra by 390 runs in their first innings. Sudip Chatterjee is on the crease on 0*. BEN: 35/2.


12:06 (IST)11 Mar 2020

SAURASHTRA ARE ON A ROLL NOW! The danger man Abhimanyu Easwaran is off after he was trapped between the wickets by Prerak Mankad! The Bengal captain asks for a review but to no avail. He goes back to the pavilion after scoring 9 from 46 balls. BEN: 35/2.

12:00 (IST)11 Mar 2020

A wicket-maiden for Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, and that's the breakthrough Saurashtra were looking for! Gharami has been dismissed at the stroke of lunch as his inside edge lands safely in the hands of Vishvaraj Jadeja! The opener departs for 26, and Sudip Chatterjee's in. BEN: 35/1.

11:42 (IST)11 Mar 2020
Ten overs in, BEN look settled

So far, so good as both Easwaran (8*) and Ghirami (18*) have settled in quite well keeping the menace of Unadkat well at bay. Dharmendrasinh Jadeja has come in and has got a maiden first over, but still no breakthrough for Saurashtra. BEN: 26/0.

11:14 (IST)11 Mar 2020
Easwaran, Gharami open for BEN

Bengal have started their innings in Rajkot with captain Abhimanyu Easwaran and Sudip Kumar Gharami, and they have been off to a fine start with the former hitting a boundary to Chetan Sakariya already. BEN: 10/0.

10:43 (IST)11 Mar 2020
A hundred and three fifties
10:39 (IST)11 Mar 2020
SAU end on 425-all out

After batting for more than 170 overs in their first innings, Saurashtra's resilience finally comes to an end. Although Unadkat and Jadeja formed a 38-run tenth-wicket partnership, it was finally broken down by Shahbaz Ahmed who bowled the Saurashtra captain over for 20. Saurashtra end their first innings on 425-all out. Next up, Bengal with the bat. 

Saurashtra Squad: Harvik Desai, Kishan Parmar, Avi Barot (w), Vishvaraj Jadeja, Sheldon Jackson, Arpit Vasavada, Chirag Jani, Prerak Mankad, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Jaydev Unadkat(c), Chetan Sakariya, Cheteshwar Pujara, Snell Patel, Kamlesh Makvana, Parth Bhut

Bengal Squad: Abhishek Raman, Abhimanyu Easwaran(c), Sudip Chatterjee, Arnab Nandi, Manoj Tiwary, Anustup Majumdar, Shreevats Goswami(w), Shahbaz Ahmed, Akash Deep, Mukesh Kumar, Ishan Porel, Wriddhiman Saha, Ashok Dinda, Koushik Ghosh, Boddupalli Amit

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.