Ranji Trophy 2016: Rishabh Pant, Nitish Rana anchor Delhi to 241/3 on Day 2

Delhi batsmen capitalised on the good work done by the bowlers to take lead over Assam in the Ranji Trophy Group B contest.

By: PTI | Updated: October 7, 2016 6:41:48 pm
Ranji Trophy, Ranji Trophy 2016, 2016 Ranji Trophy, Ranji Trophy News, Delhi vs Assam, Assam vs Delhi, Rishabh Pant, Nitish Rana, Pant Delhi, Cricket Rishabh Pant remained unbeaten on 84 when day’s play ended in Vadodara. (Source: File)

Nitish Rana and Rishabh Pant forged an unbeaten 138-run stand to guide Delhi to 241 for three after the bowlers dismissed Assam for 193 on day two of the Ranji Trophy Group B match in Vadodara.

Rana (72* off 138 balls) and Pant (84* off 83) were on course to reach the three-figure mark with Delhi ending the day at 241 for three, leading Assam by 48 runs.

Assam, who resumed at 132 for six, lasted 14.3 overs adding 61 runs to the total, thanks to an unbeaten 61 from Tarjinder Singh.

Delhi pacer Pradeep Sangwan polished off the tail to end with figures of 3 for 47.

Later, the Delhi batsmen capitalised on the good work done by the bowlers.

Opener Unmukt Chand, who is captaining the side in the absence of Gautam Gambhir, made 55 off 91 balls before being caught behind off leggie Amit Verma.

After Dhruv Shorey was dismissed to make it 103 for three, Rana and Pant took control of the game with a dominating display of batting especially from the wicket-keeper batsman.

Pant punished the opposition bowlers and ended up smashing seven fours and five sixes. Rana at the other end recorded 10 fours.

Brief Scores:

Assam 1st innings: 193 all out in 76.3 overs (Tarjinder Singh 61 not out; Sangwan 3/47). Delhi 241/3 in 71.2 overs (Chand 55, Rana 72 batting, Pant 84 batting).

Kaushal’s ton gives Jharkhand lead

Young Kaushal Singh struck his maiden first-class century to guide Jharkhand to 293 for seven and ensure the vital first innings lead for his team against Maharashtra at the end of second day’s play in a Group B Ranji Trophy cricket match in New Delhi.

Resuming at the overnight score of 33 for two in reply to Maharashtra’s 210 all out, Jharkhand were in trouble at 108 for five before Kaushal shared three crucial partnerships — with Virat Singh (46), Shahbaz Nadeem (26) and skipper Varun Aaron (24 not out) — to take 83 runs first innings lead over Maharashtra with three wickets still in hand.

Brief Scores:

Maharashtra: 210 all out in 71.1 overs (Ankit Bawne 78, Kedar Jadhav 59; Varun Aaron 4/47, Ashish Kumar 3/32). Jharkhand: 293 for seven in 99 overs overs (Kaushal Singh 121 not out; Anupam Sanklecha 3/60, Shrikant Mundhe 3/100).

Saurashtra amass 430 against Rajasthan

Skipper Jaydev Shah missed out on a double hundred but Saurashtra piled on the misery for Rajasthan by amassing 430 runs in their first innings on the second day of their Group B Ranji Trophy clash in Vizianagaram .

In reply, Rajasthan were 12 for no loss when stumps were drawn for the day.

Resuming at overnight 269/5, Saurashtra were helped to the huge target by Shah’s fine knock which ended at 193 and some useful contributions down the order.

Shah smashed a 36 fours in his marathon knock which came off 228 deliveries. Samarth Vyas (27) and Chirag Jani (33) also chipped in to power Saurashtra to the big score.

Brief Scores: Saurashtra: 430 in 97.3 overs (Jaydev Shah 193, Sheldon Jackson 76, Aniket Choudhary 2/67). Rajasthan: 12/0 in 1.4 overs.

Fazal leads Vidarbha to first innings lead

Vidarbha skipper Faiz Fazal led by example to help his team gain a crucial first innings lead against Odisha in their Ranji Trophy Group B in Visakhapatnam.

Fresh from India A’s tour of Australia, the left-handed opener remained unbeaten on 76 (5×4, 1×6), even as Ganesh Satish departed in the fag end of the day for 74, ending their match-turning 158-run partnership. Vidarbha were 182 for two in reply to Odisha’s 150, at close on day two.

Fazal remained unaffected and ensured that there’s no further damage, even as his partner Aditya Shanware was yet to open his account from 19 balls.

Brief Scores: Odisha 1st Innings 150; 78.1 overs (Biplab Samantray 53; Shrikant Wagh 3/13, Akshay Wakhare 3/19). Vidarbha 1st Innings 182/2; 67 overs (Faiz Fazal 76 batting, Ganesh Satish 74 batting).

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App