Follow Us:
Thursday, July 19, 2018

Ranji Trophy 2016: Assam inch closer to semi-final spot

Assam are in a strong position against Punjab in the Ranji Trophy quarter-final after 16 wickets fell on Day 2.

By: PTI | Mumbai | Updated: February 4, 2016 8:30:06 pm
Ranji Trophy 2016, Ranji Trophy, Ranji Trophy updates, Ranji Trophy news, Ranji Trophy scores, Madhya Pradesh vs Bengal, Bengal vs Madhya Pradesh, MP vs Ben, Ben vs MP, cricket news, Cricket Barinder Sran took three wickets for Punjab against Assam. (Source: AP/ File)

Wickets fell like pack of cards with as many as 16 batsmen perishing on the second day at the end of which Assam find itself in a significant stronger position against Punjab in a quarterfinal match of the Ranji Trophy cricket tournament.

Starting the day at 223 for eight, overnight batsman Jamaluddin Syed Mohammad (121) added 71 runs to his overnight score and hit the bulk of the runs to take Assam to a respectable score of 323. He hit 16 boundaries and two sixes during his valiant knock.

Syed Mohammed converted his overnight 50 into his second first-class hundred. He held on to the innings for 21.3 overs with the final two wickets and in the process amassed 100 runs.

Later, seamers Krishna Das (3/54) and Arup Das (3/41) shared six wickets between them to rout Punjab for 137.

Middle-order batsman Mayank Sidhana, who struck nearly 60 per cent of their first-innings total, remained unbeaten on 80 off 131 balls with 10 fours while eight of his team-mates perished for single digits.

Brief Scores: Assam 1st Innings 323 all out in 108 overs (J Syed Mohammed 121, Siddharth Kaul 4/99, Deepak Bansal 3/75) & 23 for four in 11 overs (Barinder Sran 3/11). Punjab 1st innings: 137 all out in 47.2 overs (Mayank
Sidhana 80 not out; Arup Das 3/41, Krishna Das 3/54)

MP take big lead

On a day dominated by pace bowlers from both sides, Madhya Pradesh held the upper hand over Bengal by taking a handsome first innings lead of 227 runs after skittling out the latter for a paltry 121 in their Ranji Trophy quarter final at the Brabourne Stadium on Thursday.

Choosing not to enforce the follow-on, MP ended day two of the five-day game at 14 without loss in their second innings for an overall lead of 241 with openers Aditya Shrivastava, who top-scored with 65 in the first essay, batting on 10, and Jalaj Saxena on 4.

Brief scores: MP 348 (A Shrivastava 65, N Ojha 64, D Bundela 58, Harpreet Bhatia 51, A Dane 39; A Dinda 3 for 85, Veerpratap Singh 5 for 76) and 14 for no loss. Bengal 121 (A Easwaran 48; I Pandey 4 for 45, P Datey 3 for 30, C Sakure 3 for 38).

Saurashtra in control

Opener Sagar Jogiyani and India A batsman Sheldon Jackson hit contrasting centuries with Saurashtra taking full control against Vidarbha in their quarter-final match of the Ranji Trophy cricket tournament.

In reply to Vidarbha’s paltry 151, Saurashtra scored 375 riding on Jogiyani’s 130 and Jackson’s attacking 122. Together they added 206 runs for the fourth wicket to take the match away from Vidarbha’s grasp. India speedster Umesh Yadav took 5 for 81.

Having taken a lead of 224, Vidarbha were 17 for no loss in their second innings.

Brief Scores: Vidarbha 151 & 2nd Innings 17/0. Saurashtra 1st Innings 375 (Sagar Jogiyani 130, Sheldon Jackson 122, Umesh Yadav 5/81).

Mumbai tighten noose

After a cracking century, left-handed opener Akhil Herwadkar spun web around Jharkhand batsmen with his off-breaks as heavyweights Mumbai took a step closer towards qualifying for the semi-finals of the Ranji Trophy cricket tournament.

Mumbai ended their first innings on 416 with domestic stalwart Abhishek Nayar playing a captain’s knock of 74 off 167 balls with seven boundaries and a six. With useful contributions from wicketkeeper-batsman Sufiyan Shaikh (23) and spinner Iqbal Abdullah (33), Mumbai got more than 100 runs from the last four partnerships.

In reply, Jharkhand were reeling at 150 for eight with another 57 runs required to save the follow-on.

Brief Scores: Mumbai 1st Innings 416 (Akhil Herwadkar 102, Suryakumar Yadav 75, Abhishek Nayar 74, Shahbaz Nadeem 5/140); Jharkhand 1st Innings 150/8 (Anand Singh 39, Akhil Herwadkar 3/26, Iqbal Abdullah 3/39).

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App