Ranji Trophy 2015, Group A: Bengal take three points in stalemate against Haryana

Haryana's run chase was derailed early on but skipper Virender Sehwag blasted a 52-ball 46 to reignite the chase.

By: PTI | Rohtak | Updated: November 2, 2015 7:41:48 pm
Ranji Trophy, Ranji Trophy 2015, 2015 Ranji Trophy Bengal, Bengal Haryana, Haryana Ranji Trophy, Cricket News, Cricket Bengal set Haryana a target of 316 and had them in a spot of bother. (Source: PTI)

Owing to their first innings lead, Bengal grabbed three crucial points against Haryana after their Group A Ranji Trophy match ended in a draw at the CH Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium, Lahli on Monday.

Resuming their second innings at 146 for seven, Bengal declared at 211 for eight, to set Haryana a target of 316. Overnight Bengal batsman Pankaj Shaw (61) produced a patient 148-ball half century which included two fours.

Share This Article
Related Article

Haryana’s runchase was derailed early on when they were reduced to 14 for 2 in 6.1 overs but skipper Virender Sehwag blasted a 52-ball 46 laced with six boundaries, while Rohit Sharma (50) and Sachin Rana (50) cracked twin half centuries to reignite the chase.

However, Sehwag was dismissed by Sayan Mondal in the 23rd over and once Rohit and Sachin were sent back to the hut by Mukesh Kumar and Ashok Dinda respectively in the 43rd and 52nd over, the match was headed to a draw.

Wicket-keeper Rahul Dalal (1) was also dismissed by Dinda as Haryana eventually ended their second innings at 195 for six in 62 overs.

For Bengal, Dinda (3/52) scalped three wickets, while V Pratap Singh (1/40), SS Mondal (1/32) and Mukesh Kumar (1/46) picked one each.

Brief Score:

Bengal 329 & 211/8d in 93.5 overs (P Shaw 61; AH Hooda 4/65)

Haryana 225 & 195/6 in 62 overs (R Sharma 50, S Rana 50; A Dinda 3/52).
Wickets galore on final day but Delhi match ends in draw

Both Odisha and Delhi suffered batting collapses as 18 wickets fell on the final day of their Ranji Trophi Group A match, which ended in a draw, on Monday.

On the morning of the final day even the first innings of Odisha was not complete as the hosts resumed at 195 for four.

However, quick wickets spiced up the day, preventing it from becoming a drab affair. It was Delhi paceman Pradeep Sangwan, who wreaked havoc by scalping five batsmen. He removed both overnight batsmen Anurag Sarangi (6) and Pratik Das (16) in his successive overs.

Delhi began their second innings in solid fashion with each of the three top-order batsmen scoring half-century. They were comfortably placed at 159 for three but ended up losing next six wickets for just 34 runs.

Karnataka earn six points with 92-run win over Rajasthan

Pranay Sharma scored a century but could not prevent Rajasthan from slumping to a 92-run defeat against Karnataka on the fourth and final day of their Ranji Trophy Group A cricket match on Monday.

This victory has given Karnataka six points.

Chasing 358, Rajasthan were bundled out for 265 despite Pranay (114) and Dishant Yagnik (71 not out) chipping in with crucial runs.

Resuming on 42 for three, Rajasthan got off to a determined start with overnight batsmen — Pranay and Tanveer-Ul-Haq — adding 60 runs in the morning before Stuart Binny dismissed the latter for 19.

Brief scores:
Karnataka: 281 & 318 for five decl
Rajasthan: 242 & 265 all out in 82 overs (Pranay Sharma 114, Dishant Yagnik 71 not out; David Mathias 3/53)

Wakhare, Sarwate spin Vidarbha to 82-run win over Maharashtra

Spin duo of Akshay Wakhare (6/58) and Aditya Sarwate (4/74) combined to skittle out Maharashtra for 162 as Vidarbha notched up a 82-run win and grabbed six points from their Ranji Trophy Group A match on Monday.

Wakhare and Sarwate dished out brilliant spin bowling to derail Maharashtra’s chase as they were bundled out in 46.3 overs at Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground.

Chasing 245 to win, Maharashtra resumed their second innings at 3 for 1 on the fourth and final day and opener Harshad Khadiwale produced a strokeful 55 which was studded with nine boundaries and one six.

Brief Score: Vidarbha 332 & 149

Maharashtra 237 & 162 in 46.3 overs (H Khadiwale 55; A Wakhare 6/58)

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App