Follow Us:
Thursday, July 19, 2018

Ranji Trophy 2015, Group A: Assam pacers skittle out Delhi for 149

Krishna Das (4/38) and Arup Das (3/49) ran through Delhi's batting line-up with a lethal bowling spell.

By: PTI | Guwahati | Updated: November 16, 2015 10:22:29 am
Ranji Trophy, Ranji Trophy 2015, 2015 Ranji Trophy, Ranji Trophy Delhi, Delhi Ranji Trophy, Cricket News, Cricket Assam players celebrate the fall of of Delhi batsman Gautam Gambhir on the first day of Ranji cricket match in Guwahati on Sunday. (Source: PTI)

Pace duo of Krishna Das and Arup Das wreaked havoc with the new ball, sharing seven wickets between them to bundle out Delhi for 149 in their first innings on the opening day of a Group A Ranji Trophy cricket match in Guwahati on Sunday.

Krishna (4/38) and Arup (3/49) ran through Delhi’s batting line-up with a lethal bowling spell to bowl out the visitor’s in 59.4 overs and give Assam a slight upperhand.

Share This Article
Related Article

Opting to bowl after winning the toss, Krishna gave a dream start to Assam by removing opener Unmukt Chand, LBW with the very first delivery of the match.

Krishna then dismissed Dhruv Shorey and Nitish Rana in his next over before Arup induced an edje from Delhi skipper Gautam Gambhir (4), which was gleefuly accepted by Tarjinder Singh, to reduce the visitors to eight for four.

Milind Kumar (45) and wicket-keeper Puneet Bisht (23) then shared 63 runs for the fifth wicket to forge a fightback before the Assam bowlers again found their acts.

Besides Milind and Puneet, Manan Sharma (46) and Pradeep Sangwan (12) were the other two Delhi batsmen to have reached double digit scores.

Pallav Kumar Das (1/13), Amit Verma (1/14) and Jamaluddin Syed Mohammad (1/18) were other wicket takers for Assam.

In reply, Assam finished the day on 69 for three in 29 overs.

Skipper Gokul Sharma (22 not out) was at the crease along side KB Arun Karthik (19).

Sangwan (2/1) picked up the wickets of Rahul Hazarika (19) and Amit Verma, while Navdeep Saini dismissed Pallav Kumar Das.

Assam still trail Delhi by 80 runs in the first innings with seven wickets in hand.
Brief Scores:

Delhi: 149 all out in 59.4 overs (Manan Sharma 46 not out, Milind Kumar 45; Krishna Das 4/38, Arup Das 3/49).
Assam: 69 for three in 29 overs (Gokul Sharma 22 not out, KB Arun Kar thik 19 not out; Pradeep Sangwan 2/1).

Bengal make 239/3 on day one

Abhimanyu Easwaran, Sayan Mondal and Sudip Chatterjee stuck half centuries as Bengal reached 239/3 at stumps on day one of their Ranji Trophy game against Maharashtra on Sunday.

Chatterjee and Shreevats Goswami were batting on 51 and 21 at close of play.

Openers Easwaran (65) and Mondal (58) gave the visitors a solid start, sharing a 128-run stand.

Brief scores: Bengal 239/3 in 90 overs (Abhimanyu Easwaran 65, Sayan Mondal 58, Sudip Chatterjee 51 not out; Samad Fallah 1/39).

Natraj, Singh tons put Odisha in command against Haryana

Skipper Natraj Behera and Ranjit Singh struck unbeaten centuries to guide Odisha to 280 for one against Haryana on the opening day of a seventh round Group A Ranji Trophy cricket match on Sunday.

Opting to bat after winning the toss, Odisha suffered an early jolt in the form of opener Girja Rout (10) but thereafter it was a special display of batting from Natraj (143 batting) and Singh (109 batting) as the duo shared unconquered 263 runs to take Odisha to a comfortable position at the end of the first day’s proceedings.

Natraj faced 244 balls and hit 12 boundaries and four sixes during his unbeaten knock, while Singh’s ton came off 266 deliveries with the help of eight fours and two hits over the fence.

Brief Scores:

Odisha: 280 for one in 87 overs (Natraj Behera 143 not out, Ranjit Singh 109 not out; Mohit Sharma 1/33).

Umesh Yadav takes hat-trick as Rajasthan bundled out for 216

Pacer Umesh Yadav, released from India’s Test squad for the ongoing second Test against South Africa, took a hat-trick to help Vidarbha dismiss Rajasthan for 216 on day one of the Ranji Trophy Group A match.

Yadav ended with figures of 4 for 45 in 17.5 overs with the other notable performance coming from Akshay Wakhare (3/78).

Puneet Yadav and Siddharth Dobal saved Rajasthan the blushes with a fighting 67 and 51 respectively.

Brief scores: Rajasthan 216 in 88.4 overs (Siddharth Dobal 51, Puneet Yadav 67; Umesh Yadav 4/45, Akshay Wakhare 3/78).

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App