Follow Us:
Sunday, July 22, 2018

Pakistan remain unchanged for third Test against West Indies

Pakistan selectors may add two or three names for the upcoming tours of New Zealand and Pakistan in November-December.

By: PTI | Karachi | Published: October 25, 2016 10:06:24 pm
Pakistan squad, Pakistan Test squad, Pakistan cricket, Pakistan vs West Indies, Pakistan vs WI, Pak vs WI, Pak WI squad, Pakistan New Zealand squad, Pakistan Australia squad, cricket, cricket news, sports, sports news Pakistan will be led by Misbah-ul-Haq against West Indies in the final Test of the series. (Source: Reuters)

Pakistani selectors have named an unchanged squad for the third cricket Test against the West Indies after another crushing victory in the second Test in Abu Dhabi on Tuesday.

Riding on a century by Younis Khan and another 10-wicket haul by leg-spinner Yasir Shah, the Pakistan team has taken a unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series. As such it was no surprise when the selectors named
an unchanged squad. One selector said that two or three names would be added to the squad for the tours to New Zealand and Australia later this week.

A well-informed source said that experienced but out of luck opener, Muhammad Hafeez was most likely to make the
touring squad despite being ignored for the series against the West Indies. “The selectors don’t want to take too many risks for the Tests in New Zealand and Australia and Hafeez because of his past record is a safe choice,” the source said.

Pakistan plays two Tests in New Zealand and another three in Australia in November-December.

Pakistan’s former Test batsman and now Chairman of the junior selection committee, Basit Ali said that Pakistan would face a challenge beating New Zealand because conditions were difficult there. “I think the Pakistan team will find the going tough more in New Zealand than Australia where the pitches are not the same they were some years ago,” Basit said.

The Pakistan squad for the third Test against West Indies: Misbah-ul-Haq (Capt), Azhar Ali, Sami Aslam, Younis
Khan, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Muhammad Nawaz, Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Muhammad Aamir, Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Imran Khan senior and Sohail Khan.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App