Follow Us:
Sunday, December 05, 2021

Nidahas Trophy India Squad: Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni rested for T20I Tri-series, Rohit Sharma to lead side

Nidahas Trophy India squad sees Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni being rested while Rishabh Pant was back in the team alongwith Washington Sundar and Deepak Hooda.

By: Express Web Desk |
Updated: February 26, 2018 3:33:28 pm
India beat South Africa by 7 runs at Newlands to clinch T20I trophy. Rohit Sharma will lead the 15-member squad as captain. (AP)

After sealing the 3-match T20I series against South Africa by 2-1, India will gear up to take on Bangladesh and hosts Sri Lanka in a T20I tri-series, starting from March 6. The BCCI announced the 15-member squad that will travel for the Nidahas tour to Sri Lanka and there were significant absentees in the squad. Regular Indian skipper Virat Kohli, who missed out the final T20I against the Proteas at Newlands, is rested for the tour and Indian opening batsman Rohit Sharma will take the captaincy role in his place.

Apart from Kohli, the former Indian captain, Mahendra Singh Dhoni has also been rested from the squad. India will go on the tour with Dinesh Karthik as the primary wicketkeeper option. Deepak Hooda has received his maiden international call and will travel with the team as the reserve wicketkeeper. Washington Sundar, Mohammad Siraj, Rishabh Pant and Vijay Shankar have also been included in the 15-member squad.

India’s regular seaming bowling line-up comprising of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and allrounder Hardik Pandya are not included in the squad. Chinaman Kuldeep Yadav, who was the leading wicket-taker in the ODIs against South Africa has also been rested for the series.

Speaking to reporters, MSK Prasad, Chairman of All-India Senior Selection Committee, said, “Mr MS Dhoni was not available for selection as he had requested for rest.”

“We’ve kept in mind the workload and upcoming schedule while finalizing the team for Nidahas Trophy. The high-performance team has suggested that adequate rest should be given to our fast bowlers to help improve athletic performance, maximize rest and prevent injury,” he added.

India T20I squad for Nidahas Trophy:
Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan (vc), KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohd Siraj, Rishabh Pant

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard