Follow Us:
Saturday, July 21, 2018

New BCCI president’s key task: Awarding 10-year IPL television rights

The BCCI has to call a Special General Meeting to nominate Shashank Manohar's successor and here are some of the names.

By: Express News Service | Mumbai | Updated: May 11, 2016 5:08:52 pm
shashank manohar, shashank manohar resigns, bcci, bcci india, india bcci, bcci cricket, cricket news, cricket Anurag Thakur has been the BCCI secretary since March 2015. (Source: Express file)

The upcoming tenure for the new BCCI president will oversee the most important financial decision for the cricket board. The awarding of television rights for IPL for the next 10 years, the major cash cow for BCCI, will soon come up for discussion for the new president.

This could be the final election, as it used to be conducted, before Supreme Court forces BCCI to comply with Lodha’s recommendations, and completely overhaul its structure and functioning.As things stand in the existing system, East Zone will have the first right to pick the presidential candidate. The East Zone comprising of Bengal, Assam, Jharkhand, Odisha, Tripura and the Kolkata-based National Cricket Club can put forward a candidate from their zone or nominate from outside as well.

The BCCI has to call a Special General Meeting to nominate his successor and here are some of the names in the fray.

WATCH VIDEOS | Shashank Manohar Resigns As BCCI President With Eye On ICC Post

Anurag Thakur
BCCI secretary

Thakur is a three-time MP from the Hamirpur constituency in Himachal Pradesh, also the chief of the youth wing of BJP, and the son of former chief minister of the state. At the age of 25, Thakur took over the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association — he was the first cricketer to make his first-class debut after becoming the president of the association, a controversial move that facilitated him becoming a junior national selector as the conditions stipulated that only first-class players could become national selectors. He rose to become the secretary of BCCI in March 2015.

Gokaraju Gangaraju
BCCI vice president

He will turn 68 in June and is likely to push his stature as vice-president to succeed the outgoing president. Gokaraju Gangaraju is the BJP MP from Narasapur in Andhra Pradesh, who has climbed from being a dormant administrator from Krishna District Cricket Association to one of the contenders for the president’s post. A power tussle between two rival groups paved his election as KDCA secretary; he soon became the vice-president of the Andhra Cricket Association. With the former India player MS Prasad as his director of cricket operations, Gangaraju established cricket academies at Vizianagaram, Kadapa, and Mangalagiri; a cricket stadium in Amaravati; and a women’s academy at Guntur.

Ajay Shirke
IPL governing council member

Maharashtra Cricket Association president Ajay Shirke is the outsider. With the elections due in September, there’s also a possibility that the former treasurer Shirke might temporarily fill the boots. It also remains to be seen whether he will put his nomination for secretary post, in case of elevation of Thakur as president. In the last election, Shirke threw his weight behind Shashank Manohar.

Rajeev Shukla
IPL chairman

He is the perennial aspirant who turns bride’s maid when it comes to president’s post of BCCI. The former union minister and congress leader was the IPL chairman till 2013 and was again re-appointed to the post last year, just a day before the opening ceremony of 8th edition of IPL. It remains to be seen if he gets sufficient backers.

Sharad Pawar
MCA, President

The proposed cap on upper age limit seemingly rules out Sharad Pawar but he might have a go at the post temporarily for a year before the big changes are made. It might be a too big an opportunity for Pawar to let go without a fight. He was the BCCI President between 2005 and 2008, and also subsequent held the post of ICC president.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App