Mushfiqur Rahim had a special day as Bangladesh registered a historic win over India – their first in T20Is – in New Delhi on Sunday, but a familiar problem haunted India in the match.
In fact, Rahim could have been out three times. Twice he could have been out leg before, but on both occasions the umpire signaled not out, and woefully for India – skipper Rohit Sharma and wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant opted not to use the review.
Many narratives in that matchwining knock from Mushfiqur Rahim. Amongst other things, it will help him to somewhat exorcise the ghost of 2016👏👏👏👏. Congrats @BCBtigers .
— Ian bishop (@irbishi) November 3, 2019
Then in the 18th over, with 33 runs required in 16 balls, Krunal Pandya dropped a sitter in the deep.
Rahim took the chances that India gave him with both hands. In the 19th over, with the match still delicately poised, Rahim slammed Khaleel Ahmed for four consecutive boundaries. There was no returning from that as India only had 3 runs to defend in the last over.
Three wrong DRS calls in one over
The wicketkeeper’s input is vital when teams are considering whether or not to take their review because he has the best angle to judge. One of the reasons why MS Dhoni is still considered the best Indian wicketkeeper by some is because he seems to rarely make a wrong suggestion regarding the DRS (Decision Review System). Indian fans even refer to DRS as the Dhoni Referral System.
While Wriddhiman Saha has sometimes been guilty of not asserting himself in DRS situations, Pant has sometimes been excessively assertive. Like in the case of Sunday’s match.
— Subhayan Chakraborty (@SubhayanTweets) November 3, 2019
Twice in two balls, Chahal rapped Rahim on the pads. Rohit conferred with Pant and Chahal after the first and decided not to take the DRS. There was not even a discussion after the second. India assumed that the ball had pitched outside leg stump. Replays, however, showed that both balls had landed in line and that both would have gone on to hit the stumps.
India did take – and lose – their review in the same over. Pant thought there was an inside edge off the bat as he collected the last ball of the over. This time, India went for the review. However, there was no edge.
Forgot how short Mushfiqur is: Rohit
Speaking after the match, Rohit was specifically asked about the mistakes that the team committed in taking and not taking reviews. He said, “The reviews were a mistake from our side, not to talk about it at least.”
He added, “The first ball he (Mushfiqur Rahim) played on the back foot, we thought it was going down leg, and the next one on the front foot, but we forgot how short he is! We weren’t up to the mark on the field, but batting-wise I think we put up a competitive score.”
The two teams will now play the 2nd T20I in Rajkot on Thursday.