MS Dhoni breaks yet another record with most catches in T20 cricket

MS Dhoni breaks yet another record with most catches in T20 cricket

MS Dhoni surpassed Kumar Sangakkara's tally of 133 scalps to register the most number of catches in T20 cricket on Sunday at Johannesburg.

MS Dhoni, Dhoni catches, Dhoni t20, MS Dhoni recors, india vs south africa, Twenty20 International, South Africa national cricket team, cricket news, indian express
MS Dhoni now has 134 scalps in T20 cricket. (Source: BCCI)

As India continued to register a string of victories in South Africa at one end, records continue to tumble at the other. Win in the first T20 over the Proteas also witnessed quite a few milestones being created but the most prominent among them was MS Dhoni surpassing Kumar Sangakkara’s record of most number of catches in T20 cricket. Sangakkara held the record with 133 catches (254 games) which Dhoni eclipsed after catching Reeza Hendricks off the bowling of Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Dhoni now has 134 victims in 275 T20 matches. This includes performances in T20 Internationals, Indian Premier League (IPL) and other Twenty20 games.

Meanwhile, Dinesh Karthik is third on the list with 123 catches. Pakistan’s Kamran Akmal and West Indies’ Dinesh Ramdin follow thereafter. In T20I Dhoni is leading the list with 77 dismissals (87 matches). Among wicketkeepers with most dismissals in international cricket, Dhoni is third on the list after Mark Boucher and Adam Gilchrist.

Here is a list of some of the records that were broken after the first T20I in Durban:

* Bhuvneshwar Kumar became first Indian fast bowler to take five wickets haul in T20I. He is the second Indian to take five-for after Yuzvendra Chahal became first Indian to take five wickets in T20I (in February last year).


* Bhuvneshwar Kumar is also the first Indian to take a fifer for India in all three formats.

* After posting a score of 203 in the first T20I, India are now third in the list of most 200 plus totals in T20I. India have scored over 200 runs nine times as against South Africa who have done so 11 times and Australia 10 times.

*India also registered their highest ever power-play score in a T20 International after smashing 78 runs in six overs at Johannesburg on Sunday.