India vs New Zealand 3rd T20 at Thiruvananthapuram: Ind beat NZ by 6 runs; win series 2-1

India vs New Zealand 3rd T20 at Thiruvananthapuram: Ind beat NZ by 6 runs; win series 2-1

India Vs New Zealand, 3rd T20 at Thiruvananthapuram: India beat NZ by 6 runs to win the contest and clinch the series 2-1.

india vs new zealand, ind vs nz, india vs nz 3rd t20
India vs New Zealand, 3rd T20 at Green Field Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram.

For the second time in as many months, India contested the T20 decider and for a second time, rain had a role to play. While the last time rain came down, India and Australia’s decider was called off due to a wet outfield. The organisers in Thiruvananthapuram – hosting its first international in 29 years – were better prepared despite consistent rain throughout the day. When play began, reduced to 8 overs a side, the surface made it tough to bat on and NZ opted to bowl first. India put together 67/5 from the 8 overs. In reply, NZ fell 6 runs short as Bumrah and Chahal came out as pick of the bowlers. This is India’s first series win over New Zealand in T20s.

2302 hrs IST: Dramatic finish to things. New Zealand needed 19 to win from the final over. They got one six from Grandhomme but in the end he couldn’t do it all alone. India beat New Zealand by 6 runs to win series 2-1

2246 hrs IST: Bumrah’s line isn’t the greatest. Down the leg side, Nicholls tries to sweep but gets a leading edge and Shreyas Iyer runs in from the fine leg boundary to take the catch. 

2243 hrs IST: Fantastic over by Chahal. Varies his length up really well, different line each time and goes for just three runs from the over. NZ 39/4 after 6 overs


2239 hrs IST: SIX! De Grandhomme ruins it for Kuldeep. After a stellar over – one wicket and four runs – a pitched up delivery is smacked for a six. 10 from the over

2238 hrs IST: Philips goes back this time! Philips drags it down to deep mid wicket where Dhawan is a safe pair of hands. Momentum India’s way

2237 hrs IST: HARDIK PANDYA YOU BEAUTY! Has one wicket to aim at from mid-on and hits the non striker’s end without any fuss. Lovely stuff. Williamson departs!

2233 hrs IST: Bhuvneshwar Kumar comes on to finish his quota of overs. Goes for two consecutive boundaries. First one is veering on to Philips’ pads and the swipe pierces the fielders while the second one is lucky runs behind as it beats Dhoni. Bhuvi finishes with a tried-and-tested slower one. Swing and a miss. NZ 26/2 from 4 overs

2229 hrs IST: Spin is deployed by Kohli. He positions himself to first slip for Williamson. Chahal on strike. Economical start. Goes for 5 runs. NZ’s asking rate climbs to 10.4

2223 hrs IST: Jasprit Bumrah gets the big wicket! He forces Colin Munro to head back but the credit should go to Rohit Sharma. The Kiwi opener darts down the track, tries to go over the long on region but doesn’t get the elevation or timing. Sharma, running back, dangles on to it and plucks it. Really good catch that!

2220 hrs IST: Knuckle ball after another and this time Bhuvneshwar is rewarded. The ball wobbles excessively in the air and swings away to hit the top of off stump. Guptill departs. 

2216 hrs IST: Colin Munro and Martin Guptill open for New Zealand. Bhvuneshwar Kumar has the ball. What a start for the Kiwis! Second ball of the chase and Munro continues his manhandling of the Indian bowlers. Sends the ball many a rows into the stands.

2209 hrs IST: Not the explosive finish India would have hoped for. The hosts close on 67/5 after 8 overs. Will that be enough to clinch the series?

2158 hrs IST: India are 50/4 after 6 overs. Pandya and Pandey in the middle. Need 30 runs at least for a strong total

2155 hrs IST: Iyer departs. He’s nowhere near the pitch of the ball. Doesn’t get the middle of the bat, mistimed and it falls kindly for Guptill at long off. 

2154 hrs IST: SIX! Pandey capitalises on the loop provided by Sodhi. Bam! Beautiful strike from the middle of the bat and it goes soaring into the stand

2150 hrs IST: Manish Pandey is the new man in for India. He begins the fifth over – bowled by Southee – with a well driven boundary. Made room for himself and sends it through the covers region.

2148 hrs IST: Sodhi strikes back to dismiss Virat Kohli. Tries to continue the big-hitting but the length isn’t there to clear mid-wicket. Into Boult’s hands with ease

2146 hrs IST: Virat Kohli begins the fourth over with some meaty hits. Four on the first ball and six on the next. Just what India need.

2141 hrs IST: TWO-IN-TWO! Rohit Sharma goes next ball. Beautiful take while tumbling forward by Santner and the combination gets the job done once again. Well disguised slower ball that. At the end of the over, a very good one at that, India are 18/2 after 3 overs

2140 hrs IST: GONE! Dhawan tried to up the ante with seven runs each from the first two overs. Comes down the track but the length isn’t there for getting the distance to it. Santner takes the catch and Southee strikes.

2136 hrs IST: Not coming on as smoothly as they would like. Rohit Sharma is twice done in by Santner. Kept in the air and slowed down. Goes for it a touch too soon and beaten both times. The outfield is pulsating, though, as shown in the boundary from the over. 14/0 after 2 overs.

2129 hrs IST: Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan come out to bat. Trent Boult has the ball. Decent over from the Kiwi perspective but multiple edges for Shikhar fall kindly. 7 runs from the first over

2118 hrs IST: Team changes: Adam Milne is out for New Zealand and Tim Southee comes in. For India, Axar Patel and Mohammed Siraj out with Manish Pandey and Kuldeep Yadav coming in

2117 hrs IST: TOSS: New Zealand’s Kane Williamson calls tails at the toss and tails it is. He chooses to bowl first. Virat Kohli says he would have opted to bowl first as well. With rain since afternoon, the wicket is going to be damp.

2104 hrs IST: Inspection has been completed and the toss is at 9.15 PM IST. Play to begin at 9.30 PM. Match reduced to 8 overs a side. 4 bowlers bowl two overs each

2043 hrs IST: Good signs at last! Players begin warm up. Ravi Shastri, Bharat Arun and some New Zealand come out to have a look at the pitch. Another inspection to take place at 9 PM. The covers around the square have been removed so that’s a very good sign of things

2016 hrs IST: 8PM was the cut off to lose overs and we’ve reached that point. After 9 PM, the game gets reduced to five an over. The final time for the game is 9.46 PM.

1956 hrs IST: Still a gentle drizzle but play can’t begin until it is completely dry. The super soppers are out. The cut off for the game is around 9.46 PM IST but for a five-over game, the timing is 9 PM. Very gentle drizzle, super soppers out. Needs to stop by around 9 for a 5 over game. (Cut-off we believe is 21.46)

1917 hrs IST: Situation hasn’t improved much in the decider. Still too moist and damp for play to begin. Toss yet to take place. New Zealand are warming up on the sidelines while India enjoy footie…

1835 hrs IST: Toss has been delayed in Thiruvananthapuram with rain continuing to pour.

India vs New Zealand 3rd T20 Live Score and Updates: Green Field Stadium will play host to the final and decisive third T20 between India and New Zealand. But this 29-year wait for an international game and debut T20 could be denied by rain. Even though the organisers promise incredible drainage system, the rain may not allow that.


India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Virat Kohli(c), Hardik Pandya, MS Dhoni(w), Manish Pandey, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson(c), Tom Bruce, Glenn Phillips(w), Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult