Follow Us:
Sunday, October 17, 2021

Mumbai vs Pune: Rising Pune SuperGiants beat Mumbai Indians by 9 wickets

Rising Pune SuperGiants off to a winning start in IPL with a comprehensive nine-wicket win over Mumbai Indians.

By: Express Web Desk |
Updated: April 10, 2016 6:49:09 pm
Ajinkya Rahane scored unbeaten 66 off 42 balls. (Source: Express photo by Kevin D’Souza)

Rising Pune SuperGiants could not have asked more on their IPL debut. A nine-wicket win over defending champions Mumbai Indians. After restricting Mumbai to a modest 121/8, Pune rode on Ajinkya Rahane’s 66* to seal the win. (PHOTOS: Opening Ceremony)

Scorecard: Mumbai vs Pune CLICK HERE

As it happened

2257 hrs IST: What a debut for Pune! They beat Mumbai by 9 wickets

2256 hrs IST: Ajinkya Rahane hits two sixes and seals the win for Pune

2250 hrs IST: Just formalities remaining for Pune. They are on course for the first win

2248 hrs IST: FIFTY! Ajinkya Rahane with a typical Rahane half-century! Off 32 balls and first off IPL 2016

2247 hrs IST: Kevin Pietersen sends one from Harbhajan Singh to the second tier for a massive six

2242 hrs IST: Kevin Pietersen has began slowly for Pune

2238 hrs IST: WICKET! Harbhajan has done it. He gets Faf du Plessis off a slower one. Deceiving him with pace

2236 hrs IST: Harbhajan Singh into the attack. He played a fabulous innings with the bat

2234 hrs IST: Pune are 76/0 after 9 overs. Need 46 off 66 balls

2220 hrs IST: Rahane and Du Plessis shifting gears. Pune need below 5 runs per over

2216 hrs IST: Faf du Plessis gets two consecutive sixes off the last two balls of the sixth over and Pune are 57/0 chasing 122

2212 hrs IST: A couple of sixes off that McCleanghan over

2208 hrs IST: 23/0 after 4 overs for Pune

2200 hrs IST: Pune taking it easy in chase. Odd boundry in the over

2155 hrs IST: Rahane and Du Plessis in the middle for Pune

2139 hrs IST: Harbhajan Singh smashes 45* off 30 to take Mumbai Indians to 121/8. Will it be enough?

2133 hrs IST: Back to back boundries for Harbhajan Singh and 100 up for Mumbai. One over to go

2129 hrs IST: WICKET! Vinay Kumar pulls RP Singh but without timing. Mumbai Indians 96/8 in the 19th over

2123 hrs IST: Vinay Kumar hits a six over long-off. The second off MI innings. The first was hit in the third over. This one in the 18th

2118 hrs IST: Mumbai Indians reach 80/7 after 17 overs. Will they get to 100?

2110 hrs IST: WICKET! Another bowler with a wicket off his first ball. Rayudu pulls a short one from Ashwin but it goes straight to Faf du Plessis at short mid-wicket

2109 hrs IST: And here is R AShwin into the attack for Pune

2106 hrs IST: M Ashwin again into the attack. The other Ashwin, Ravichandran, yet to bowl

2104 hrs IST: Rajat Bhatia’s figures: 4-1-10-1

2059 hrs IST: Pune pacers have been excellent and Mumbai batsmen have gone into a shell

2055 hrs IST: WICKET! Maiden IPL wicket for Muruggan Ashwin as Shreyas Gopal hits it straight to long-off. MI 51/6

2053 hrs IST: M Ashwin comes onto bowl.He is making his IPL debut

2052 hrs IST: Halfway mark and Mumbai Indians reach 48/5

2045 hrs IST: Mumbai Indians take the strategic time-out. After nine overs, they are 47/5

2042 hrs IST: Wicket maiden for Rajat Bhatia and Mumbai Indians are 40/5 after eight overs

2039 hrs IST: WICKET! Pollard adjudged LBW! Rajat Bhatia with a wicket off his first ball

2037 hrs IST: Pollard hit on the pads off Marsh on the full but umpire thinks it is going down the leg-side

2035 hrs IST: The game moving at a slow pace. Pollard and Rayudu taking their time to rebuild this innings for MI

2031 hrs IST: Mumbai only getting 37 runs off the powerplay and losing four wickets. Pollard and Rayudu at the crease for them

2025 hrs IST: WICKET! Mitchell Marsh has another in the over. Jos Buttler has a duck on debut. Late swing and Buttler closes the face of the bat. Leading edge travels to Ashwin at slips

2021 hrs IST: WICKET! This time it’s Mitchell Marsh who gets a wicket off his first ball. Hardik Pandya gets top edge and skies it. MS Dhoni calls for it and takes an easy catch

2018 hrs IST: WICKET! Ishant Sharma has got one through Lendl Simmons defence. MI 29/2

2016 hrs IST: Hardik Pandya starts the fourth over with consecutive fours

2015 hrs IST: :Lendl Simmons with a straight six. Mumbai 20/1 after 3 overs

2010 hrs IST: Ishant Sharma with a good over apart from the couple of wides

2008 hrs IST: Ishant Sharma testing the batsman outside the off-stump

2005 hrs IST: What a start for Ishant Sharma to the tournament! Wicket off his first ball. Rohit Sharma out LBW

2003 hrs IST: A boundary from Rohit Sharma’s bat and Mumbai end first over with 8 for no loss

2000 hrs IST: Simmons and Mumbai get off the mark of the first ball

2000 hrs IST: RP Singh with the ball and Lendl Simmons with the bat are all set

1951 hrs IST: Mumbai playing XI – Lendl Simmons, Rohit Sharma (c), Jos Buttler (wk), Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Gopal, Hardik Pandya, Mitchell McClenaghan, R Vinay Kumar, Harbhajan Singh

1950 hrs IST: Pune playing XI – Faf du Plessis, Ajinkya Rahane, Kevin Pietersen, MS Dhoni (wk & c), Steve Smith, Rajat Bhatia, Mitchell Marsh, R Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, M Ashwin, RP Singh

1936 hrs IST: A surprising decision from Rohit to bat first. Captains prefer chasing at the Wankhede, and then there is dew

1934 hrs IST: Everyone is warming up

1931 hrs IST: Both teams going in with six batsmen and five bowlers

1930 hrs IST: Mumbai Indians win toss and elect to bat against Pune. MS Dhoni wanted to bowl first.

1922 hrs IST: MS Dhoni will be leading Pune and Rohit Sharma is Mumbai’s captain, two of the most successful captains in IPL history

1920 hrs IST: We are building up to the big match between Mumbai and Pune

1902 hrs IST: Mumbai Indians,  the defending champions, will take on the Rising Pune SuperGiants, the first time entry to the league

1900 hrs IST: An hour to go before the season begins

A fresh look and quirky firsts

Cheerleaders train on the eve of the opening game between Mumbai Indians and Rising Pune SuperGiants at the Wankhede Stadium on Friday. (Source: Express photo by Kevin D’Souza)

AT THE IPL, the more things change, the more they stay the same. But like every season, there will be a few new attractions to focus on. Of course there will be the obvious ones.

Look at the eight captains

Team captains pose for a picture in their official jerseys. (Source: Twitter)

The most awaited T20 festival kicks off in Mumbai on Saturday. The first match will be played between defending champions Mumbai Indians and the brand new franchise Rising Pune Supergiants.

T20 cricket’s giant leap

West Indies won the World T20 title after Carlos Brathwaite smashed four sixes off four balls in the last over. (Source: PTI)

It’s been six days since Carlos Brathwaite’s 6, 6, 6, 6 at Eden Gardens. But those hits still play on a loop in your minds. They prompts you to consider if what you saw that night was simply extraordinary hitting under immense pressure, or something more rare: an evolutionary leap for T20.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.