DD vs RCB, IPL 2016: RCB beat DD to reach play-offs

Virat Kohli scored 54* to lead RCB to a six-wicket win over DD and reach play-offs with a top two finish.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: July 22, 2016 6:03:24 pm
Virat Kohli scored an unbeaten 54 for RCB against DD. (Source: BCCI)

RCB reach the play-offs of IPL 2016 after Virat Kohli led the team to a six wicket win over DD. They finish top two in the points table.

As it happened

2314 hrs IST: All over! Virat Kohli takes a single and RCB win by 6 wickets. They are through to the play-offs and DD go back home. RCB are second in the points table

2314 hrs IST: RCB need 1 run from 2 overs

2309 hrs IST: 13 needed off the last 18 balls from RCB

2302 hrs IST: Binny is the new man in. Mishra to bowl

2259 hrs IST: WICKET! On last ball of 15th over, Watson sweeps but it goes high in the air. Sam Billings accepts the catch! RCB still need 28 off 30 balls. Time for time-out

2255 hrs IST: RCB 104/3 after 14 overs. Chance for Delhi look very narrow now

2254 hrs IST: DROPPED! Watson connects but it goes straight to Jayant Yadav at long-on. But the fielder was a bit too much inside the boundary and after hitting the finger tips, the ball sails over

2251 hrs IST: Kohli punches in the air after hitting a four off the last ball of 13th over. RCB need 43 off 42 balls

2247 hrs IST: Mishra gives only 3 runs and RCB are 88/3 after 12th over

2243 hrs IST: Only 2 runs from that Brathwaite over and a wicket

2241 hrs IST: Shane Watson is the new man in for RCB

2240 hrs IST: WICKET! KL Rahul tries to run it down to third man but the ball bounces back in the crease, spins back on to the stumps. 

2238 hrs IST: At the halfway mark, RCB 83/3. Need 56 more off 60 balls

2230 hrs IST: RCB need 71 off 72 balls with Kohli and KL Rahul at the crease

2221 hrs IST: Six overs gone and RCB are 49/2 chasing 139

2221 hrs IST: Outside edge from Virat Kohli. Falls short of the player standing at first slip.

2221 hrs IST: That was in the air for sometime but RCB manage to get three runs.

2215 hrs IST: Virat Kohli scores two consecutive boundaries off Zaheer Khan

2210 hrs IST: Back to back fours for KL Rahul as Chris Morris concludes his second over.

2207 hrs IST: WICKET! A good catch from Yadav shows de Villiers way back to pavilion. RCB 17/2

2201 hrs IST: FOUR! AB de Villiers pulls one to the leg side boundary.

2159 hrs IST: WICKET! Chris Morris cleans up Chris Gayle on very first delivery of his first over.

2155 hrs IST: FOUR! Kohli gets a boundary through cover area.

2137 hrs IST: Only 4 runs off the final over and a wicket. Delhi post 138/8

2132 hrs IST: 19 overs gone and Delhi are 134/7

2125 hrs IST: Chahal finishes his quota. 4-0-32-3. Delhi 115/7

2121 hrs IST: Given! Umpire sees there is nothing wrong with the ball. De Kock gone. But was it a no-ball. Too close

2119 hrs IST: WICKET! De Kock skies it and Jordan runs in from long-off to take the catch. But they are checking for a no-ball. It’s very close

2118 hrs IST: Nine runs off the 16th over. Quinton de Kock still going strong for Delhi

2113 hrs IST: WICKET! Gayle is delighted! Brathwaite hits is straight to backward point! Second one for Gayle. Delhi 98/6 after 15 overs

2110 hrs IST: WICKET! Negi’s struggle in the middle is over. He tries to hit a big one but it goes straight to De Villiers at long-off. DD 96/5

2108 hrs IST: 4 runs off that over from Aravind

2105 hrs IST: Aravind back to bowl the 14th over. FIFTY! Quinton de Kock with his third IPL 2016 half-century. Will he lead DD to big total today?

2102 hrs IST: 13 overs gone and it’s time for the time-out! Delhi 89/3

2100 hrs IST: Chris Gayle to bowl his first over

2059 hrs IST: DROPPED! After a couple of excellent catches, RCB fieder drops one. Abdullah at third man boundary drops a sitter. Negi tries the upper cut which travels straight at third man

2056 hrs IST: GONE! Billings cuts and it is wide of point fielder. But Gayle dives and catches it! Delhi 81/4

2054 hrs IST: ABdullah’s over costs only 5 runs and Delhi is turning slow

2050 hrs IST: Iqbal Abdullah to bowl his left-arm spin in the 11th over

2049 hrs IST: Chahal gives only 8 runs and takes a wicket. At the halfway stage, DD 75/3

2047 hrs IST: Sam Billings is the new man in for Delhi

2046 hrs IST: WICKET! Samson is giving caught behind. Spinning away and Samson tries to guide it down the third man. KL Rahul claims the catch. Samson stunned with the decision

2044 hrs IST: Yuzvender Chahal to bowl. He appeals for a caught-behind down the leg-side but umpire says it hit the pad

2043 hrs IST: Five runs off that Watson over and DD 67/2

2040 hrs IST: Shane Watson to bowl the 9th over and Sanju Samson is on strike

2037 hrs IST: Yuzvender Chahal’s second over costs 14 runs. DD 62/2 after 8 overs. Time for time out

2029 hrs IST: End of the powerplay! Delhi 43/2 after 6 overs

2027 hrs IST: WICKET! Virat Kohli runs back and holds on to the catch. Nair is gone. Yuzvender strikes

2024 hrs IST: SIX! Karun Nair upper cuts a short ball from Watson and it travels all the way. DD 41/1 after 5 overs

2021 hrs IST: Shane Watson to bowl the fifth over and Karun Nair has top-edged one. Chris Gayle runs after that but it falls safe

2020 hrs IST: A good over for Delhi! 12 off it. DD 33/1

2016 hrs IST: De Kock launches Aravind’s first ball of fourth over for a straight six! Good shot

2016 hrs IST: After the loss of Pant, DD haven’t taken any risk. They are 21/1 after 3 overs

2012 hrs IST: Karun Nair is caught on the free-hit

2011 hrs IST: Jordan begins with a no-ball. Free-hit

2007 hrs IST: WICKET! Rishabh Pant is gone! A high, swinging bowl from Aravind and Pant gets a healthy edge

2005 hrs IST: Nine off the first over and a good start for DD

2000 hrs IST: Stuart Binny to start for RCB. Quinton de Kock on strike

1945 hrs IST: Playing XIs

1935 hrs IST: Iqbal Abdullah in for Varun Aaron for RCB. Morris returns for DD

1932 hrs IST: Virat Kohli has won the toss and RCB will be bowling first against Delhi Daredevils 

1929 hrs IST: Equation simple for RCB and DD. Win and go through. If RCB win, they will jump to number two

1928 hrs IST: Mumbai Indians have been knocked out of the IPL. They will no longer defend their title


Karun Nair dares, Delhi get a lifeline

Karun Nair made 83* to lead Delhi to six-wicket win over Hyderabad. (Source: BCCI)

Karun Nair wins it for Delhi Daredevils after Carlos Brathwaite changes the dynamic with his fielding and bowling. Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner’s seventh fifty goes in vain.

Race to play-offs: Gujarat, SRH qualify; how others can be in play-offs

IPL 2016 play-offs: Six teams are in the race for the last-four spots. (Source: PTI)

Gujarat Lions are through to the play-offs after a win over Mumbai in Kanpur. With 18 points, Gujarat have confirmed a top-two finish. Joining them are Sunrisers Hyderabad in the latter stages of the tournament.

In short, Virat Kohli is Don Bradman

Virat Kohli’s 50-ball 113 (eight sixes and 12 fours) was his fourth hundred in Indian Premier League 9.

It started to pour since 6 o’clock in the evening. About three hours later, when rain stopped, a portion of the Chinnaswamy outfield was under ankle-deep water. At 9.30pm, Virat Kohli and Murali Vijay walked out for the toss. Fifteen minutes hence, they were up and running; for a 15-overs-a-side contest. “Let the rain stop, give me 45 minutes and we will have at least 15 overs (per side),” Karnataka State Cricket Association chief curator Sriram Rangan had said. He walked the talk.


For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App