Saturday, Jan 28, 2023

Lisa Sthalekar angered by BCCI’s treatment of Veda Krishnamurthy

Sthalekar said Veda's non-inclusion in the Indian women's team can be justified, but how the BCCI has not communicated with Veda to see how she is coping after the tragedy in her family cannot be.

Veda Krishnamurthy and Lisa Sthalekar (File Photo/BCCIWomen)

Former Australia women’s cricketer Lisa Sthalekar has expressed her anger at the apparent cold shoulder given to Veda Krishnamurthy by the BCCI. Though Veda’s non-inclusion in the Indian women’s team announced on Friday “can be justified”, said Sthalekar, what has surprised her is how the BCCI has not communicated with Veda at all to see how she is coping.

The 28-year-old Veda Krishnamurthy lost her mother and elder sister due to Covid-19 recently.

“Whilst not selecting Veda for the upcoming series maybe justified from their point of view, what angers me the most is that as a contracted player she has not received a communication from the BCCI, just to even check how she is coping. A true association must deeply care about its players and not focus solely on just the game at any cost. So disappointed. As a past player the ACA has reached out daily to see how we are and provided all kinds of service. If there was a need for player association in India it is surely now. The stress, anxiety, fear and grief that many players have experienced through this pandemic will take its toll on them as individual and inadvertently affect the game,” Sthalekar wrote on Twitter.

READ | Veda Krishnamurthy stays true to her natural game

Krishnamurthy has played 48 ODIs and 76 T20Is for India. Her most recent appearance in competitive cricket came during the inter-state Women’s Senior One Day Trophy quarter-finals in March, where she represented Karnataka.

The Indian selectors on Friday named the India Women squads for the one-off Test match, ODI and T20I series against England in England. Krishnamurthy found a mention in neither team.

Squad for Test & ODI: Mithali Raj (Captain), Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), Punam Raut, Priya Punia, Deepti Sharma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Sneh Rana, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Indrani Roy (wicket-keeper), Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy, Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Radha Yadav.

Subscriber Only Stories
The K Arun Prakash Interview: ‘My style is to highlight the composition a...
At international checkpoint, online system  helps vehicles cross over sea...
Experts say Adani Group stock sell-off may not affect market, but deepens...
Delhi Confidential: Lok Sabha Speaker wants MPs to learn lessons from Pad...

Squad for T20I: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain) Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Deepti Sharma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Richa Ghosh, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Indrani Roy (wicket-keeper), Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy, Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Radha Yadav, Simaran Dil Bahadur.

First published on: 15-05-2021 at 15:04 IST
Next Story

Samyukta Kisan Morcha to observe May 26 as ‘black day’ marking 6 months of protest against farm laws

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments