Follow Us:
Friday, July 10, 2020

Journalist Rajat Sharma is new DDCA president

Rajat Sharma on Monday was elected as the President of Delhi & District Cricket Association with 54.40% of votes in his favour.

By: Sports Desk | Updated: July 2, 2018 3:20:47 pm
DDCA elections Rajat Sharma becomes DDCA President. (Source: Express Photo by Anil Sharma)

Renowned journalist Rajat Sharma was elected as the President of Delhi & District Cricket Association on Monday after polling 54.40 percent of the total votes cast. The results of the DDCA elections, which took place between June 27 and June 30, were declared on Monday morning. Sharma surpassed former World Cup winning Indian cricketer Madan Lal by 517 votes to register his win. Sharma’s group swept all the 12 seats in the elections. The journalist got a total of 1531 votes while former Test cricketer Lal could only poll 1004 votes, while advocate Vikas Singh only managed to get 232 votes.

“I thank all members of DDCA who voted in the elections and reposed their trust in us. I now invite all the members to join hands to bring about transparency in the functioning of DDCA,” Sharma wrote in a tweet after his victory.

Rakesh Kumar Bansal was also elected as the Vice President with 48.87% votes in his favour, younger brother of former DDCA president Sneh Bansal, defeated BCCI acting president CK Khanna’s wife Shashi to register his win.

Sharma and his panel’s candidature was backed by a political heavyweight from the ruling party with the IOA president Narinder Batra throwing in all his might. Batra incidentally is a former DDCA treasurer.

DDCA elections Rajat Sharma celebrates the victory. (Express Photo by Anil Sharma)

Among the other notable winners was former sports committee head Vinod Tihara, (1374 votes) who became secretary defeating nearest rival Manjeet Singh (998) by 376 votes. Tihara is expected to run the daily affairs of DDCA including a big say in all the representative teams — especially Ranji Trophy and men’s age group.

The joint secretary’s post went to Rajan Manchanda (1402), younger brother of former treasurer Ravinder, who beat Pushpender Chauhan (953) by 449 votes. Pushpender is the younger brother of Chetan Chauhan. For treasurer’s post, Om Prakash Sharma beat Deepak Singh by 1241-891 votes.

DDCA elections Rajat Sharma celebrates the victory. (Express Photo by Anil Sharma)

Coach Sanjay Bhardwaj was elected for the director’s post (first-class cricketer) while Renu Khanna became the woman director. Notable among other directors were Apruv Jain, son of former media manager Ravi Jain, who polled 1286 votes, Alok Mittal, Nitin Gupta, Shiv Nandan Sharma and Nitin Agarwal.

Sharma had thrown his hat into the ring for the post on May 16. Padma Bhushan awardee journalist is the Chairman and Chief Editor of Hindi news channel INDIA TV.

(With inputs from PTI)

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.