Follow Us:
Saturday, July 24, 2021

New RCB recruit Josh Philippe plays ‘innings of the season’ in BBL

Josh Philippe, the 22-year-old wicketkeeper-batsman from Australia who was picked up in the IPL auction by Royal Challengers Bangalore for INR 20 L, played arguably the best innings of the BBL season so far on Sunday.

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: January 5, 2020 5:06:21 pm
Josh Philippe scored 83 off 52 balls to take his team to a last-over win in the BBL on Sunday. (File Photo/BBL)

New Royal Challenger Bangalore (RCB) recruit Josh Philippe pulled off a thrilling chase – scoring 83 runs off 52 balls, with 5 fours and 4 sixes – to take Sydney Sixers to a last-over win against Adelaide Strikers in the Big Bash League (BBL) on Sunday.

An opening batsman and a wicketkeeper, Philippe, who was picked up by RCB for INR 20 L for IPL 2020, might just have staked his claim to have been one of the best bargain buys from the auction in December with his matchwinning knock.

Also Read | RCB squad for IPL 2020

It will be interesting to see if RCB include the 22-year-old Philippe over more established overseas names, but Parthiv Patel’s place in the playing XI as wicketkeeper might be in jeopardy. Patel, Philippe and Shahbaz Ahmed are the three keepers in the RCB squad.

Opening the batting for the Sixers in their run chase of 177 in the BBL on Sunday, Philippe navigated a bowling attack comprising the likes of Rashid Khan and Peter Siddle, bringing up his fifty in 36 balls.

40 runs were required in the last 4 overs.

When Sydney required 25 off 2 overs, he scored 16 off 4 deliveries to bring the chase down to 9 runs needed off 8 balls.

The win propelled the Sixers to second on the BBL points table.

RCB director Mike Hesson had termed new buy Philippe an “excitement machine” after the IPL auction.

RCB current squad:

Batsmen: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Gurkeerat Mann, Devdutt Padikkal, Aaron Finch (4.4 cr)

Bowlers: Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kane Richardson (4 cr), Dale Steyn (2 cr), Isuru Udana (50 lac)

All-rounders: Moeen Ali, Pawan Negi, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Chris Morris (10 cr), Pavan Deshpande (20 lac)

Wicketkeepers: Parthiv Patel, Joshua Philippe (20 lac), Shahbaz Ahamad (20 lac)

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.