Follow Us:
Sunday, May 16, 2021

Joe Root left out of England T20I squad, big guns rested for South Africa ODIs

Pat Brown, Tom Banton, Matthew Parkinson and Saqib Mahmood have received their maiden ODI call-ups. A full-strength team has been selected for the T20I series, with Joe Root being left out.

By: Reuters |
December 13, 2019 10:23:02 pm
England's Eoin Morgan celebrates after reaching a half century with Joe Root in 3rd ODI against India Eoin Morgan’s England will return to the 50-over format after their World Cup triumph in South Africa. (File Photo/Reuters)

England will rest Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes and Mark Wood for the three-match one-day international series against South Africa starting in Cape Town on Feb. 4, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) said on Friday.

The series marks the return of Eoin Morgan’s side to the 50-over format after their World Cup triumph on home soil in July and follows the four-test series against the hosts starting this month.

Worcestershire seamer Pat Brown, Somerset batsman Tom Banton and the Lancashire pair of Matthew Parkinson and Saqib Mahmood received their maiden call-ups.

England also named a T20 squad for a three-match series against the Proteas starting on Feb. 12, with Archer, Buttler, Stokes and Wood returning to the team as it focuses on next year’s T20 World Cup in Australia.

“We want to expand the pool of players who can perform successfully for England while also helping the team to peak for major tournaments,” national selector Ed Smith said.

Five players who were part of England’s 3-2 T20 series win over New Zealand in November – Banton, Sam Billings, Lewis Gregory, Mahmood and James Vince – were left out.

England ODI squad: Eoin M organ, Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Pat Brown, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Chris Jordan, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Matthew Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Chris Woakes.

England T20 squad: Eoin Morgan, Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Pat Brown, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Mark Wood.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.