IPL Spot Fixing: The timelinehttps://indianexpress.com/article/sports/cricket/ipl-spot-fixing-timeline/

IPL Spot Fixing: The timeline

When did all start and when did the Lodha panel annouced the quantum of punishments? All you need to know.

May 16, 2013:

Delhi Police arrests Sreesanth, Ankit Chavan, Ajit Chandila, and alleged bookie Jiju Janardhan along with 10 other bookies. On May 24, CSK team principal Gurunath Meiyappan is arrested by Mumbai Police on charges of betting, cheating and conspiracy. Role of Rajasthan Royals co-owner Raj Kundra also under scanner.

October 7, 2013:

The Supreme Court appoints a three-member committee headed by former High Court judge Mukul Mudgal, additional solicitor general N Nageshwar Rao and Assam Cricket Association member Nilay Dutta to further probe the matter.

February 10, 2014:

After meeting more than 100 people in nearly four months, the Mudgal Panel presents report to the Supreme Court. The judges have been given a single copy of a sealed envelope whose contents are available only for the Court. The envelope will only be opened and its contents read by the judges. Justice Mudgal tells the media that Meiyappan was a CSK team official and found him guilty of betting and passing on information in IPL 2013. He also found Kundra guilty of betting in the IPL.

Watch video:


March 25, 2014:

The Supreme Court suggests that Srinivasan steps down to enable fair investigation into the allegations of betting. “It’s nauseating that N Srinivasan continues as BCCI chief, he should go if cricket has to be cleaned.” Srinivasan refuses to comment, saying he would study the Court observations.

May 16, 2014:

The Supreme Court empowers Justice Mudgal to head the investigation into the IPL and asks him to look into the ‘sealed envelope’. Apart from Mudgal, L Nageswara Rao, Nilay Dutta, and former IPS officer BB Mishra are also in the probe panel.

November 3, 2014:

The Mudgal Committee submits its final report in the IPL corruption case to the Supreme Court. The report could determine, among other things, whether ICC chairman Srinivasan can seek re-election as president of the BCCI. At a later hearing, the Supreme Court bars Srinivasan from standing for any post in the BCCI.

January 22, 2015:

The Supreme Court sets up the committee comprising former Chief Justice of India RM Lodha, former Justice Ashok Bhan and former Justice R Raveendran to determine appropriate punishments for Meiyappan, Kundra and their respective franchises.

July 14, 2015:

Justice Lodha led committee announces the quantum of punishments; bans Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals for a period of two years while imposing life bans on Meiyappan and Kundra.