Follow Us:
Wednesday, July 18, 2018

IPL 2016: Hat-tricks in Indian Premier League till date

Axar Patel picked up the first hattrick of the 2016 season of IPL. Here's a list of the bowlers who have IPL hat-tricks to their name

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: May 2, 2016 12:19:43 pm
IPL 2016, IPL, IPL schedule, IPL news, IPL hattricks, L. Balaji, Axar Patel, Makhaya Ntini, Yivraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Amit Mishra, Ajit Chandila, Sunil Narine, Pravin Tambe, sports news, sports, cricket news, Cricket Axar Patel picks up first hattrick of IPL 2016. (Source: BCCI)

Axar Patel joins the elite club of the players who have picked up a hat-trick in the Indian Premier League after he picked one against Gujarat Lions on Sunday. Axar bagged the consecutive wickets of Dinesh Karthik, Dwayne Bravo and Ravinder Jadeja. (Fixtures | Squads)

Lakshmipathy Balaji (CSK)

Lakshmipathy Balaji became the first ever bowler to pick up a hattrick in IPL. He achieved the feat against KXIP in 2008 where the fast bowler dismissed Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla and VRV Singh in the last over as the Chennai Super Kings won the match by 18 runs. Balaji also picked up a five wicket haul during the course of this match.


Amit Mishra (DD)

The leg-spinner from the Delhi Daredevils never lets off a chance to produce something magical. In 2008, in the match between Delhi Daredevils and Deccan Chargers, Mishra emerged as a night mare for the Chargers. He dismissed Dwaraka Ravi Teja, Pragyan Ojha and RP Singh on the first 3 balls of the final over of the match. Delhi Daredevils won the match by 12 runs. Mishra picked up a figures of 5/12.


Makhaya Ntini (CSK)

Another former CSK fast bowler achieved the feat in 2008 and this time it was Makhaya Ntini against Kolkata Kight Riders when he dismissed Sourav Ganguly on the last ball of the 5th over and took 2 wickets on the first 2 balls of the 17th over by dismissing Debabrata Das and David Hussey. CSK won the match by 3 runs.


Yuvraj Singh (KXIP)

The IPL was held in South Africa in 2009. Kings XI Punjab were playing Deccan Chargers in Durban. Yuvraj Singh took the ball in his hands and what came next was simply unexpected. He bagged his first hattrick against DC. Yuvraj picked up Robin Uthappa and Jacques Kallis on last 2 deliveries of 12th over and then completed the Hattrick by dismissing Mark Boucher on the first delivery of 14th over. KXIP won by 8 runs.

Rohit Sharma (DC)

None of us would have ever expected the hitman to be a part of this club. Rohit came as a surprise for everyone after he picked up three in three against Mumbai Indians in 2009. Rohit showed pavillion’s route to Abhishek Nayar and Harbhajan Singh on the last 2 deliveries of 16th over and JP Duminy off the first delivery of 18th over. Chargers beat Indians by 19 runs.


Yuvraj Singh (KXIP)

The 2009 IPL edition had to offer a lot as once again Yuvraj took the responsibilty with the ball and this time against the same opposition Deccan Chargers. He ripped apart the Chargers’ middle order as the left-handed bowler picked Herschelle Gibbs on the last delivery of 12th over and Andrew Symonds and Venugopal Rao in the first 2 deliveries of 14th over. He also became the first bowler to pick up two IPL hattricks. The thriller ended in Punjab’s favour as they won the match by 1 run.


Praveen Kumar (RCB)

Those were the days when Praveen Kumar was a part of Royal Challengers Bangalore. In 2010, while playing for RCB against Rajasthan Royals, the UP quick bowler added a new feather in his hat. His hattrick included the wickets of Damien Martyn, Sumit Narwal and Paras Dogra in the 17th over. RCB later won the match by 10 wickets.

Amit Mishra (DC)

The leg-spinner again picked up a hattrick and this time he was a part of Deccan Chargers and was up against KXIP in 2011. This was Mishra’s second IPL hattrick. This time his dismissals were Ryan McLaren , Mandeep Singh and Ryan Harris in the 16th over. Deccan won by 82 runs.

Ajit Chandila (RR)

The tainted bowler from Rajasthan Royals Ajit Chandila too had a hattrcik to his name. He achieved this against Pune Warriors India in 2012. Chandila dismissed Jesse Ryder and Sourav Ganguly off the last 2 deliveries of first over and Robin Uthappa in the next over.

Sunil Narine (KKR)

The Caribbean spinner picked a hattrick against Kings XI Punjab in 2013. His victims were David Hussey, Azhar Mahmood and Gurkeerat Singh in the 16th over.

Amit Mishra (SRH)

Amit Mishra picked up a hattrick against Pune Warriors India in 2013. He picked up his third IPL hattrick. The dismissals involved Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rahul Sharma and Ashok Dinda.

Pravin Tambe (RR)

Pravin Tambe picked up three consecutive wickets in 2014 while playing against KKR. He dismissed Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan and Ryan ten Doeschate on the trot.

Shane Watson (RR)

Shane Watson picked the 2nd hat-trick of IPL 2014 against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Watson dismissed Shikhar Dhawan on the last ball of innings’ 4th over. He returned to bowl the 17th over and picked two wickets in two balls to complete the 2nd hat-trick of this season. He dismissed Moises Henriques and Karn Sharma.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App