Follow Us:
Wednesday, June 23, 2021

Mithali Raj to lead India Women’s team for ODI series against England Women

Smriti Mandhana will captain the Board President’s XI wherein Veda Krishnamurthy finds a spot.

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: February 9, 2019 7:33:06 pm
Mithali Raj Mithali Raj will lead the Indian team. (Source: BCCI Women/Twitter)

The All-India Women’s Selection Committee announced the Indian Women’s Cricket team for the three-match ODI series against England Women. The series, which is a part of the ongoing ICC Women’s Championship, will begin on on February 22 at the Wankhede Stadium Mumbai.

Mithali Raj continues to lead the side which also features veteran Jhulan Goswami, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur, Deepti Sharma among others.

The committee also picked the Board President’s XI wherein Smriti Mandhana will be the captain. Veda Krishnamurthy, who was dropped for the New Zealand tour, also finds a spot.

India Women’s squad for ODI series: Mithali Raj (Captain), Jhulan Goswami, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), R Kalpana (wicket-keeper), Mona Meshram, Ekta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Mansi Joshi, Punam Raut.

The Board President’s XI squad will play a one-day warm-up game prior to the ODI series in Mumbai on 18th February.

Mithali Raj and Harmanpreet Kaur are not a part of the team.

Board President’s XI: Smriti Mandhana (Captain), Veda Krishnamurthy, Devika Vaidya, S Meghana, Bharati Fulmali, Komal Zanzad, R Kalpana, Priya Punia, Harleen Deol, Reemalaxmi Ekka, Manali Dakshini, Minnu Mani, Tanuja Kanwar

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.