Follow Us:
Monday, July 16, 2018

India beat Sri Lanka by nine wickets in 1st ODI; Shikhar Dhawan 132*, Virat Kohli 82*

India, chasing a modest 217-run target, gun down the total in the 29th over. Shikhar Dhawan smashes an unbeaten 132 - his 11th ODI hundred, while Virat Kohli remains unbeaten on 82 - his 44th fifty in the format. India take 1-0 lead in five-match series.

Match EndedIndia tour of Sri Lanka, 2017 - 1st ODI

Sri Lanka

216 (43.2)


220/1 (28.5)
Match Ended ( Day - 1st ODI )
India beat Sri Lanka by 9 wickets
By: Express Web Desk | Updated: August 27, 2017 1:52:43 pm
Shikhar Dhawan continued from where he left in the Tests as he smashed an unbeaten 132 in the modest chase. (Source: AP)

India continue with their dominating run as they beat Sri Lanka by nine wickets in the first ODI of the five-match series. Chasing a modest 217-run target, the hosts made easy work and gunned down the total in the 29th over. Shikhar Dhawan, the visitors’ leading run-getter in the Tests, smashed an unbeaten 132 while Virat Kohli scored a fluent 82. Sri Lanka struggled to pick a wicket and the only success they had came in the fifth over when Rohit Sharma was run-out for four in the fifth over. No hosts’ bowlers made an impression and the fielding too was below-par.

Dhawan was dropped twice during his aggressive knock. First by Niroshan Dickwella when the left-hander was on 87 and later on 118 when Upul Tharanga made a mess of a running catch. With the thumping win, India take a 1-0 lead in the series. Earlier, India bowlers, especially the spinners, were disciplined in the ball and turned it India’s way in the middle overs. Axar Patel was pick of the bowlers with figures of 3/34; Kedar Jadhav, Jasprit Bumrah and Yuzvendra Chahal returned with two wickets each.

India vs Sri Lanka, 1st ODI: As it happened in Dambulla


India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri Lanka: Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dhanushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Upul Tharanga (c), Angelo Mathews, Chamara Kapugedara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Thisara Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Lasith Malinga, Vishwa Fernando.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App