Thursday, Dec 01, 2022

India vs South Africa: Mohammed Siraj replaces injured Jasprit Bumrah in T20I squad

Jasprit Bumrah has been ruled out after he sustained a stress fracture ahead of the first T20I in Thiruvananthapuram.

Mohammed Siraj who worked up brisk pace while bowling the ideal 'Test match length'. (Zim Cricket/Twitter)

Mohammed Siraj will replace the injured Jasprit Bumrah for the remaining two T20I matches against South Africa, the BCCI said in a statement on Friday.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee named Mohammed Siraj as a replacement for injured Jasprit Bumrah for the remainder of the T20I series against South Africa,” BCCI said.

“Bumrah has sustained a back injury and is currently under the supervision of the BCCI Medical Team.”

The remaining two T20Is will be played in Guwahati on October 2 and in Indore on October 4.

Subscriber Only Stories
Arun Singhal: ‘India will keep importing fertilizers from Russia as long ...Premium
From bonds to banks: Large industry drives credit growthPremium
Southern states push back: Common power network may miss Dec 1 deadlinePremium
UPSC Key- November 30, 2022: Why you should read ‘Cyber-Attack’ or ‘China...Premium

Siraj has played five T20Is for India, his last T20I appearance came against Sri Lanka earlier this year. The 28-year-old pacer was playing county cricket for Warwickshire.

Bumrah didn’t play the first T20 against South Africa Wednesday and, a day later, flew to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru for the back condition to be monitored.

The BCCI had ruled out Bumrah from the first T20 game against South Africa in Thiruvananthapuram Wednesday. “Jasprit Bumrah complained of back pain during India’s practice session on Tuesday. The BCCI Medical Team assessed him,” it had said.


Bumrah had earlier missed the Asia Cup in the UAE last month due to the back injury.

India beat world champions Australia 2-1 earlier this month and are 1-0 up against South Africa in their three-match series. However, their death-overs bowling has been a concern ahead of the World Cup. With Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Arshdeep Singh bleeding runs in the final overs India had hoped Bumrah’s return from injury would plug that hole.

BCCI has not confirmed whether Indian spearhead Jaspirt Bumrah is out from the T20 World Cup or not. If he is ruled out, either Mohammed Shami or Deepak Chahar, the two pace-bowling standbys for the T20 WC are likely to replace him.


Indian squad for South Africa T20Is: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Umesh Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Shahbaz Ahmed, Mohd Siraj

First published on: 30-09-2022 at 09:22:25 am
Next Story

Father-son duo thrashed for objecting to loud music being played at function

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments