Follow Us:
Sunday, January 24, 2021

India vs New Zealand 3rd T20I Highlights: Rohit Sharma wins it for IND, NZ’s bad luck with super over continues

India vs New Zealand 3rd T20I Highlights: Rohit Sharma top-scored for India with a 40-ball 65 followed by a 4-ball 15 in the super over

By: Sports Desk | Updated: January 29, 2020 9:34:55 pm
India vs New Zealand 3rd T20I in Hamilton on Wednesday

India vs New Zealand 3rd T20 Highlights: Rohit Sharma’s two huge sixes powered India to a win over New Zealand in the super over, chasing down the target of 18 runs. Chasing a target of 180, New Zealand got off to a flier. Martin Guptill scored 31 runs before losing his wicket to Shardul Thakur. Colin Munro struggled to get boundaries. Ravindra Jadeja got Munro’s wicket in his first over. Kane Williamson led the run chase hitting his 11th T20I half-century. Williamson got the run chase on track with a 51-run partnership with Ross Taylor. Williamson lost his wicket in the final over for 95 with 2 more runs to win from three runs. Mohammed Shami got the wicket of Taylor on the last ball as the scores were tied with the match heading into super over.

Earlier, Williamson won the toss and elected to bowl first. Rohit Sharma came back in form after two single-digit scores on the tour to hit a 23-ball fifty including a 27-run over. Rohit also completed his 10,000 international runs as an opener. Rohit shared an 89-run stand with KL Rahul. He departed after scoring 65 runs from 40 deliveries. Rahul lost his wicket to Colin de Grandhomme. The opener scored 27 runs.

The experiment to send Shivam Dube at No.3 failed as he departed for 3. Hamish Benett got two quick wickets including Rohit’s, who scored 65 runs from 40 deliveries. Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer tried to get the innings back on track. Iyer departed after playing himself in. Kohli scored 38 runs from 27 deliveries and got out in the penultimate over. India finished well with Ravindra Jadeja and Manish Pandey hitting 18 runs in the final over setting a target of 180.

India in New Zealand, 5 T20I Series, 2020Seddon Park, Hamilton 25 January 2021

New Zealand 179/6 (20.0)


India 179/5 (20.0)

Match Ended ( Day - 3rd T20I ) India tied with New Zealand (India win Super Over by 2 wickets)

Live Blog

India vs New Zealand 3rd T20I Highlights:

16:40 (IST)29 Jan 2020
Kohli explains the discussion that led to super over

I thought we were gone at one stage. I told our coach that they deserved to win. On the last ball, we had a discussion and we came to a conclusion that we had to hit the stumps. Rohit was superb for us. When Shami bowled those two dot balls, I thought we can go to super over. In the super over, Kane came out and smashed Bumrah who is one of best death over bowler in World Cricket. There are a couple of guys who are sitting out like Sundar and Saini, they deserve to get a game.

16:40 (IST)29 Jan 2020
Williamson disappointed with result

Super overs haven't been too successful for us. India showed their experience in the crunch situation. We bowled well after they got off to a superb start. Very disappointing. It was nice to spend some time in the middle. It was disappointing not to cross the finishing lines. It is a game of small margins. It was a much better performance from us.

16:39 (IST)29 Jan 2020
Rohit on his super over batting

Never done that before (batting in Super Over). I didn't know what to expect, whether to go from the first ball or wait for a while. I just wanted to stay still and then try my best (on the last two sixes). Good performance with the bat, disappointed at having thrown my wicket away though. I hadn't got runs in the first two games, wanted to do well today. We knew we would win the series today if we win the match - in important games, the main players need to step up.

16:39 (IST)29 Jan 2020
A first for India

As the nerves calm down, one should know that India have won their first-ever T20I series in New Zealand. 

16:23 (IST)29 Jan 2020

Rohit Sharma hangs back and hits the ball over the ropes. India win in super over. New Zealand's bad luck in super over continues somehow. India take an unassailable lead of 3-0 in the five-match T20I series. 

16:21 (IST)29 Jan 2020
5th ball

In the slot from Tim Southee and Rohit Sharma hits it into the orbit. A huge six from Rohit's bat. 14 runs from 5 balls. 

16:20 (IST)29 Jan 2020
4th ball

Just a single from KL Rahul's bat. Chance for a second run but Rohit says no. 8 runs from 4 balls. 

16:18 (IST)29 Jan 2020
3rd ball

KL Rahul shuffles across and hits the ball on the full. Rahul works it towards deep square leg for a boundary. 7 runs from 3 balls. 

16:18 (IST)29 Jan 2020
3rd ball

KL Rahul shuffles across and hits the ball on the full. Rahul works it towards deep square leg for a boundary. 7 runs from 3 balls. 

16:17 (IST)29 Jan 2020
2nd ball

Low full toss from Tim Southee and just a single towards the leg side. 3 runs from 2 balls. 

16:17 (IST)29 Jan 2020
1st ball

Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul walk out to chase the 18 runs in super over. Rohit mistimes the first delivery but gets a couple of runs. 2 runs off one ball. 

16:11 (IST)29 Jan 2020
18 to win

Virat Kohli's decision to give Jasprit Bumrah the super over despite being in bad touch today backfires. 17 runs from the over. 

16:10 (IST)29 Jan 2020
6th ball

Martin Guptill finds the gap this time and hits it between long on and midwicket fielder for a boundary. 17 runs from super over.

16:09 (IST)29 Jan 2020
5th ball

Jasprit Bumrah shortens the length and Williamson misses. Just a single through byes. 13 off 5 balls. 

16:09 (IST)29 Jan 2020
4th ball

Kane Williamson hits that one on the up and into the gap for a boundary. 12 off 4 balls

16:08 (IST)29 Jan 2020
3rd ball!

SIX! Kane Williamson shuffles across again and uses the pace to hit the ball for a six over deep square leg. 8 off 3 balls. 

16:07 (IST)29 Jan 2020
2nd ball

Martin Guptill mistimes a full toss, just a single of the second delivery. Good start for India.

16:06 (IST)29 Jan 2020
1st ball

Bumrah to Williamson, just a single off the first delivery. 

16:04 (IST)29 Jan 2020
Bumrah to bowl super over

After a long meeting, Virat Kohli decides that Jasprit Bumrah will bowl the super over. Martin Guptill and Kane Williamson walk out to bat. Here we go!

16:01 (IST)29 Jan 2020

Tim Seifert misses the two balls. Seifert took a single through byes. Ross Taylor could not get a single off the final over as he inside-edged into the stumps. The third T20I heads into the super over. NZ - 179/6 after 20 overs


India: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul (wk), Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Washington Sundar.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Scott Kuggeleijn, Colin Munro, Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Bruce, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Hamish Bennett, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner.