New Zealand going strong at close of rain-hit second day against India: Who said what on Twitter

New Zealand were in a strong position at 152/1 at close of play on the second day of the first Test against India in Kanpur.

By: Express Web Desk | Published: September 23, 2016 4:57:07 pm

India vs New Zealand, India vs NZ, New Zealand vs India, NZ vs India, Ind vs NZ, NZ vs Ind, Kane Williamson, Ravindra Jadeja, Tom Latham, R Ashwin, cricket, cricket news, sports, sports news India remained on the up in response to India’s 318 in the first innings in Kanpur. (Source: PTI)

Play between India and New Zealand on the second day of the first Test in Kanpur at Green Park Stadium came to a premature end after rain stopped play and cancelled out 36 overs. Tom Latham (56*) and skipper Kane Williamson (65*) had carried their partnership beyond the 100-run mark in response to India’s 318 in the first innings.

Rain started to pour ever so slightly just as tea was on the horizon and grew stronger during the break. Rain stopped at 3.15 PM with the inspection scheduled for 3.45 PM but the umpires then decided to call play off completely and force an early start for the third day on Saturday. Play on the third day is slated to start at 9.15 AM with 98 overs to be bowled.

Martin Guptill was the only Kiwi batsman to have walked back to the pavillion with Umesh Yadav getting the break. As play moved on, Indian spinners in Ravindra Jadeja and R Ashwin were starting to get the ball to turn and bounce with increasing frequency making the third day an interesting prospect.

Earlier in the first session of the day, starting from an overnight score of 291/9, Jadeja and Yadav added 27 to the overnight total stretching their partnership to 41 before Neil Wagner struck to close the hosts’ inning at 318.

This is how Twitterati reacted on the second day’s play:

The second day’s play also saw two contentious decisions – both on Jadeja’s bowling. First had Latham sweeping the left-arm bowler and the ball hit his boot and was taken at short leg by KL Rahul. However, third umpire replays pointed at Rahul using the strap of the helmet while he took the catch which was contravening Law 32.3.

The next incident had Williamson out caught behind but the umpire shook his head. Replays picked up a noise when the ball passed the batsman’s bottom edge but Ultra Edge did not show any deviation to suggest a dismissal.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App