Follow Us:
Wednesday, October 20, 2021

India vs England Women’s World Cup: Twitterati ‘extremely proud’ of India despite loss to England

England clinched their fourth World Cup title after beating India by nine runs in the final at Lord's. India were chasing a target of 229 runs but were bowled out for 219 in 48.3 overs as Shrubsole took six wickets.

By: Express Web Desk |
Updated: July 23, 2017 11:02:51 pm
india vs england, ind vs eng, icc women's world cup England beat India by nine runs in the World Cup final. (Source: Reuters)

It did not end for India as they had hoped for. It was a chase of so close yet so far for India. Chasing a target to 229 runs, India were going strong midway through the chase with Punam Raut nearing a century. But, when the score read 191, Raut was struck on the pads and the umpire adjudged her leg before wicket. She wanted to review it but she had exceeded the time limit.

That triggered a collapse in the Indian batting and they lost seven wickets for 28 runs to be bowled out for 219 runs and lose the final by nine runs.

The win gave England their fourth World Cup title while India failed to win their first in what was their second attempt in the final. India had earlier reached the final in 2005.

After losing an early wicket, India innings was rebuilt by Mithali Raj and Punam Raut before the former was run-out. Harmanpreet Kaur then put up a stand with Raut and took India closer to win. But, Harmanpreet fell against the run of play.

Raut continued her good work but she was adjudged leg-before wicket and India then recovered from the collapse. In the end, England held their nerves while India panicked.

England had posted 228/7 batting first.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.