Follow Us:
Friday, July 20, 2018

Ravindra Jadeja picks up his 100 Test wicket

Ravindra Jadeja picked up his 100th Test scalp after bagging the wicket of Alastair Cook on Day 4 of the fourth Test against England.

By: Express Web Desk | Updated: December 11, 2016 2:54:52 pm
Ravindra Jadeja, Ravindra Jadeja 100 wickets, 100 wickets cricket, Ravindra Jadeja century, India vs England, Ind vs Eng, India vs England Jadeja, cricket news, sports news Ravindra Jadeja has been a mainstay in the Indian bowling setup in the last two years. (Source: AP)

In what has turned out to be a milestone filled contest at the Wankhede Stadium between India and England, Ravindra Jadeja also added his name to the record books by bringing up his 100th Test wicket. As he dismissed England skipper Alastair Cook for 18 to add to the visitors’ woes, he brought up his own century after Jayant Yadav had brought up his maiden Test ton with a willow and Virat Kohli had scored his third double ton.

ALSO SEE | Ravindra Jadeja makes Alastair Cook his bunny

Bowling the 12th over of the second innings, Jadeja had Cook trapped leg before which was given out by the umpire. However after a little consideration with Joe Root, England opted to take the review. The TV replay suggested the flat delivery had pitched on middle and leg and was going on to hit the stumps. The ball had been given good variance of pace and was of good length that had Cook by surprise as he was late to get his bat to the ball. HawkEye had all the red lights on and England had lost their second wicket and a big one at that.

Jadeja has taken just 24 Tests to reach 100 wickets which is equally fastest as Ryan Harris, Jason Gillespie, Lance Gibbs while being just one Test slower than Shane Warne and Glenn McGrath.

Jadeja took 45 innings for the 100 wicket landmark at an average of 24.43 while having five five-wicket hauls to his name. He joins the illustrious list of India’s highest wicket takers with more than 100 to their name. Other names in the list of players who are still playing include R Ashwin with 241 wickets and Harbhajan Singh with 417.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App