Follow Us:
Tuesday, February 18, 2020

India vs Australia T20I, ODI schedule: BCCI announce dates, venues for two T20Is, five ODIs

Australia travel to India for a two T20I and five ODI series which gets underway on February 24 and concludes on March 13.

By: Sports Desk | Updated: February 5, 2019 10:33:42 am
India's Virat Kohli is embraced by Australia's Mitchell Starc after their Twenty20 cricket match in Sydney Virat Kohli and the Australian team at the conclusion of the third T20I in Sydney. (Source: AP)

Board of Control for Cricket in India have announced the dates and venues for upcoming series against Australia where the national side will play two T20Is followed by five ODIs. The series would work as a handy option for the teams to test their squad ahead of the ICC World Cup in England in May.

The initial schedule had the series kicking off in Bengaluru with the first T20 International on February 24 followed by the second shortest format game at Vizag on February 27. Following the change, there has been a swap in venues. KSCA wrote to BCCI about their inability to host the inaugural match due to security concerns. On February 24, Aero India Show will be held in Bengaluru and Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be attending the event – the reason why the police authorities informed KSCA about their inability to provide security.

This will be followed by five match ODI series to be played in Hyderabad, Nagpur, Ranchi, Mohali and Delhi on March 2, March 5, March 8, March 10 and March 13 respectively.

On India’s tour of Australia, the T20I series finished 1-1 with one match washed out. The ODI series gets underway on Saturday with three matches to be played. At the culmination of the series, India will travel to New Zealand to play five ODIs and three T20Is starting January 23. The series gets over on February 10 giving the Indian team under a fortnight to recharge batteries before Australia arrive.

Australia, on the other hand, will play two Tests against Sri Lanka at the conclusion of the series against India. It begins on January 24 with the first Test at The Gabba and the second Test is at the Maunka Oval in Canberra starting February 1.

India vs Australia T20I schedule

1st T20I on February 24 in Vizag
2nd T20I on February 27 in Bengaluru

India vs Australia ODI schedule

1st ODI on March 2 in Hyderabad
2nd ODI on March 5 in Nagpur
3rd ODI on March 8 in Ranchi
4th ODI on March 10 in Mohali
5th ODI on March 13 in Delhi

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.