Follow Us:
Friday, January 22, 2021

India vs Australia 1st T20I Highlights: How Kohli & co trumped Aussies in first T20I

India vs Australia (IND vs AUS) 1st T20 Highlights: India delivered an impressive 11-run victory over Australia in the first T20 International on Friday.

By: Sports Desk | Updated: December 5, 2020 6:50:25 pm

India vs Australia 1st T20I Highlights: Yuzvendra Chahal turned out to be the perfect concussion substitute after an injured Ravindra Jadeja did his part with the bat as the duo played their roles to perfection in India’s impressive 11-run victory over Australia in the first T20 International on Friday. Credit was also due to the lion-hearted effort from debutant Thangarasu Natarajan (3/30) and off-spinner Washington Sundar (0/16 in 4 overs), who bowled well in Powerplay.

Jadeja smashed an unbeaten 44 off 23 balls to propel India to 161 for 7, his head injury turned out to be a blessing in disguise with India unleashing Chahal (3/25 in 4 overs) on an Australian side caught completely off-guard. The hosts could manage only 150 for 7 in 20 overs.

Australia v India Twenty20 Series 2020

1st T20I, Manuka Oval, 04 Dec, 2020

AUS 150 / 7 (20.0)


IND 161 / 7 (20.0)

Sean Abbott12 8
Mitchell Swepson12 5
Deepak Chahar4.0 29 1
Washington Sundar4.0 16 0

India win by 11 runs

Live Blog

India vs Australia 1st T20I Highlights:

17:38 (IST)04 Dec 2020
17:33 (IST)04 Dec 2020

India win first T20I against Australia by 11 runs. Substitute Yuzvendra Chahal and debutant Natarajan claim three wickets each to script India's win. What a sensational comeback after being 92/5 in their innings. Chahal-Natarajan lead the defence of 162 as India go 1-0 up, the team's ninth successive win in T20Is.

17:26 (IST)04 Dec 2020

Natarajan gets Starc bowled with that delivery! The debutant has stood out with his performance and he ends his spell with three wickets in his first T20 International match for India. AUS are 135/7 after 19 overs.

17:21 (IST)04 Dec 2020

Just what India needed in the final overs of the game! Another wicket, this time Chahar gets Henriques. Moises Henriques' lbw review is unsuccessful, with him probably goes Australia's last chance of a win. AUS are 127/6 after 18 overs.

17:15 (IST)04 Dec 2020
Chahal gets his third

Yuzvendra Chahal, on as a concussion substitute for Ravindra Jadeja, has bowled a brilliant spell. He finishes with figures of 3/25 as Matthew Wade is caught by Kohli Australia need 40 off 18 with 5 wickets remaining, they are 122/5 after 17 overs.

17:06 (IST)04 Dec 2020
Wicket: Natarajan shines on debut

A dream debut for Natarajan! D'Arcy Short never got going, the Australia opener is caught for a 38-ball 34, bringing Wade to the crease. AUS need 49 more in last 5 overs to win, they are 113/4 after 15 overs.

16:59 (IST)04 Dec 2020
100 run up for AUS

Nine runs conceded by Chahal from that over and Australia reach 104/3 after 14 overs. Henriques - 18* & Short - 32* are present into the middle with a stand of 30 runs. 

16:56 (IST)04 Dec 2020

Shami to Henriques. SIX, that's a flat six, short ball and it's pulled to deep square leg. Superb timing by Heriques as AUS are 95/3 after 13 overs.

16:46 (IST)04 Dec 2020

Top review from India and Natarajan has Maxwell. Natarajan gets his maiden T20I wicket on review, Maxwell is lbw for two as India edge ahead in the game. A brilliant review from Kohli and Co. AUS are 79/3 after 11 overs.

16:38 (IST)04 Dec 2020

Short from Chahar and Smith gets hold off it and clears the boundary but substitute Chahal sets it straight in the next over as he dismisses the Australian batsman for 12 runs. Credit to Samson's catch, which is arguably even better than that of Pandya's. This is a massive wicket and Chahal has his second. The match is turning towards India's side again. AUS are 74/2 halfway through their chase. 

16:28 (IST)04 Dec 2020

India finally have a breakthrough as India's 12th man Yuzvendra Chahal picks up wicket in his first over with a brilliant diving catch from Hardik Pandya. Finch departs for 35 as AUS are 58/1 after 8 overs.

16:22 (IST)04 Dec 2020
Dropped chances

India is going to regret couple of chances they dropped, giving Australia a new life. First Pandey and now Virat Kohli, who puts down a simple one! He gets underneath the ball but it goes through his hand. AUS are 54/0 after 7 overs. 

16:17 (IST)04 Dec 2020
50-run partnership

Australia openers Finch and Short bring up 50-run partnership in 6 overs to give the hosts a fine start to the chase. Finch is looking in destructive form. At the end of the powerplay, AUS are 53/0.

16:11 (IST)04 Dec 2020
1st SIX of the chase

Finch takes on Shami and gets 12 runs from the 5th over including a boundary and a maximum. Finch and Short have given Australia a quick start. AUS are 45/0 after 5 overs.

16:07 (IST)04 Dec 2020
Solid start by hosts

Short from Sundar and Finch dispatches it with ease. Australia have made an excellent start in the run chase as AUS are 33-0 after 4 overs.

16:01 (IST)04 Dec 2020
4, 4

Two back-to-back boundaries by Short get Australia back on track after managing just two runs in the second over. Two boundaries for D'Arcy Short in Shami's first over. Breezy start for the hosts as AUS are 26/0 after 3 overs.

15:52 (IST)04 Dec 2020
Substitution: Jadeja replaced by Chahal
15:52 (IST)04 Dec 2020
4, 4, 4

Poor start to defending by India. Deepak Chahar bowls an expensive first over for Team India, conceding 14 runs including 3 fours and a leg-bye

15:48 (IST)04 Dec 2020
Australia begin chase

Australia need 162 to win and they begin the chase. D Arcy Short and Finch are at the crease. Chahar opens the attack.

15:25 (IST)04 Dec 2020
AUS need 162 to win

After their mid-order collapse, Jadeja (44*) helps India reach 156/7 scoreboard after 20 overs. Even after an injury issue, Jadeja fired big shots against Hazlewood, hitting three fours and a six in the penultimate over. Sundar was dismissed by Starc in the last over, but Jadeja rallied on with two fours. 46 runs in the last three overs -- a big finish. Australia now need 162 to win in Canberra.


India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan.

Australia: Aaron Finch (C), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, A'Arcy Short, Adam Zampa.