Sunday, Nov 27, 2022

India name 15-man squad for T20 World Cup: R Ashwin, Varun Chakravarthy in; Dhawan & Chahal miss the bus

India's have named their 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup, which will start from 17 October, has been announced.

india t20 world cupIndia name 15-man squad for T20 World Cup: (File Photo/PTI)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday, announced Team India’s 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup 2021. The squad featured R Ashwin, the off-spinner, who returned to the white-ball side after a lay-off.

MS Dhoni was also named as the mentor for the team during the course of the tournament.

India’s 15-man squad:

Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohd Shami.

Standby players – Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar.

Talking about the squad, chief selector Chetan Sharma said: “Ashwin is an asset. He performed well in the IPL and we needed a player of his experience. We need an off-spinner with Washington (Sundar) injured.

“Ashwin is the only off-spinner in the squad. Varun is a mystery spinner who is a surprise package for the world,” he was quoted as saying.

Among the notable omissions were Shikhar Dhawan, and the wristspinning duo of Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav.

The T20 World Cup will take place in UAE and Oman in a total of 4 venues — Muscat, Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah.

The tournament is scheduled to begin on October 17 with the qualifying rounds. India kick off their T20 World Cup campaign against Pakistan on October 24.


From October 23, the Super 12 round will start, and this will end on November 8. The knock-out round of the T20 World Cup 2021 will start on November 10 and the final of the tournament is set to take place on November 14.

Kohli’s side will open their campaign in a blockbuster Super12 encounter against Pakistan in Dubai on 24 October.

Apart from Pakistan, India have been pooled with Afghanistan and New Zealand in Group 2, as well as two sides who progress from Round 1 of the tournament, beginning on 17 October.


The top two teams in each group of the Super12 stage progress to the semi-finals, with the final set to be played in Dubai on 14 November.

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Key-November 21, 2022 to November 25, 2022: Why you should read ‘Ass...Premium
Team Melli and the Socrates legacyPremium
Goalkeeper who played for India in ‘World Cup’ now drives aut...Premium
NIA to Home Ministry: Break nexus, move gangsters from north to jails in ...Premium

(With PTI inputs)

First published on: 08-09-2021 at 09:12:49 pm
Next Story

Mumbai: Municipal Commissioner defends tender for penguin upkeep, says birds have helped increase Byculla Zoo income

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments