India A vs South Africa A 1st Test Highlights: Shubman Gill fifty guides IND A

India A vs South Africa A 1st Test Highlights: Shubman Gill fifty guides IND A

India A vs South Africa A 1st Test Highlights: India A-led by Shubman Gill's unbeaten 66 on Day 1 are trailing by 35 runs.

India A vs South Africa A 1st Test Highlights: With two centuries and four half-centuries, Shubman Gill has been Punjab’s batting lynchpin, having notched up 629 runs this season. (Express File Photo)

India A vs South Africa A 1st Test Highlights: After restricting South Africa A to just 164 in their first innings, Shubman Gill-led India A finished Day 1 on 129/2 after 38 overs at Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram on Monday.

After winning the limited-overs series, India A continued their dominance in red-ball cricket where Shardul Thakur and Krishnappa Gowtham bagged three wickets each, and Shubman Gill remained on an unbeaten 66 with Ankit Bawne on the crease. South Africa’s Marco Jansen was their highest scorer with a 45-run knock.

Live Blog

India A vs South Africa A 1st Test Highlights:

Stumps: Day 1

So play is called off for the day and India A are 129/2 and trail by 35 runs. Shubman Gill is unbeaten on 66 and giving him company is Ankit Bawne on 6.  Join us for live action tomorrow.

Shubman Gill slams fifty

Shubman Gill continues his good run of form with a fine half-century. Reaches the landmark in 94 balls. His beautiful innings was laced with 7 fours and 1 six. IND A- 109/2

India A trail by 90 runs

Shubman Gill stands strong in the middle stitching another partnership with Ricky Bhui. India A are batting on 74/1 at the end of 20 overs, with Gill batting on 34, while his partner is Bhui is on 10. 


Marco Jansen breaks the opening stand between Gill and Gaikwad as the latter returns to the pavilion after scoring 30.

Shubman Gill and Ruturaj Gaikwad start things smoothly

After bundling out South Africa A for a paltry 164, Shubman Gill and Ruturaj Gaikwad get India A to a smooth start. The pair has added 38 at the end of 10 overs, with Gill batting on 13 and his partner on 25. IND A: 38/0 (trail by 126 runs) 

India A bundle out South Africa A on 164

India A bundle out South Africa A on 164 with Shahbaz Nadeem inflicting the final blow on the visitors. He gets rid of Lungi Ndidi on 15.  


South Africa A lose their ninth man as Lutho Sipamla returns to the pavilion on 9. SA A are batting on 131/9. 


Dane Piedt resistance comes to an end as he is cleaned up by K Gowtham on 33. SA: 101/8 


South Africa A lose another wicket as Senuran Muthusamy falls short of his ground. Ankit Bawne is the man with the golden arm as he hits the bulls eye. SA: 70/7


Dane Piedt and Senuran Muthusamy help South Africa A reach 67/6 at Lunch. Piedt is batting on 10, while his partner is on 11. 

K Gowtham joins the party

K Gowtham joins the party and a small 30-run partnership between Wiaan Mulder and Senuran Muthusamy comes to an end with the former departing on 21. South Africa are six down with 52 on the board.  

Shradul Thakur tears apart the Proteas batting line-up!

Shradul Thakur is doing most of the damage here, as he picks his third wicket of the match. South Africa A are five down with 22 on the board. Heinrich Klaasen is the fourth South African player to depart for 0. 

South Africa A top order crumble

The hosts have ripped apart the Proteas top order as South Africa A reach 18/3 at the end of 10 overs. Shardul Thakur and Shahbaz Nadeem provided India A with the other two wickets. 


Sorry for the delay but here are the PLAYING XIs from both the teams: 

India A: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ankit Bawne, Shubman Gill(c), Jalaj Saxena, Ricky Bhui, Srikar Bharat(w), Shivam Dube, Krishnappa Gowtham, Mohammed Siraj, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shardul Thakur

South Africa A: Pieter Malan, Edward Moore, Aiden Markram(c), Zubayr Hamza, Khaya Zondo, Heinrich Klaasen(w), Wiaan Mulder, Marco Jansen, Senuran Muthusamy, Dane Piedt, Lungi Ngidi 


A brilliant start for the hosts as Mohammed Siraj removes Aiden Markram on duck. SA A: 0/1


India A win toss elect to bowl first

Hello and Welcome!

Hello and welcome to the LIVE COVERAGE of the 1st Test between India A and South Africa. The match is being played in Thiruvananthapuram. The highly-rated Shubman Gill will lead the team in the first of the two four-day matches. All-rounders Vijay Shankar and Shivam Dube will feature in both matches.  


India A: Shubman Gill (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Ankeet Bawne, KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), K Gowtham, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Vijay Shankar.

South Africa ‘A’: Aiden Markram (captain), Theunis de Bruyn, Zubayr Hamza, Lungi Ngidi, George Linde, Pieter Malan, Eddie Moore, Senuran Muthusamy, Marco Jansen, Dane Piedt, Wiaan Mulder, Heinrich Klaasen, Lutho Sipamla, Khaya Zondo.