Ind vs Aus, 3rd T20I, Stats: Virat Kohli breaks yet another record; Suresh Raina is a chase hero

Virat Kohli became the first batsman to notch up three half centuries in a bilateral T20I series.

By: PTI | Sydney | Updated: February 1, 2016 7:13:37 pm
Virat Kohli received his third Player of the Series award in T20Is. (Source:AP) Virat Kohli received his third Player of the Series award in T20Is. (Source: AP)

The statistical highlights of the third and final T20 International between India and Australia in Sydney on Sunday:

# Suresh Raina (49 not out off 25 balls) has recorded his highest score vs Australia in T20Is, surpassing the 41 at Adelaide on January 26, 2016. (REPORT: India win thriller)

# Raina’s match-winning innings is his third highest in a winning cause in T20Is, the highest is 101 vs South Africa at Gros Islet on May 2, 2010.

Also Read: ‘Yuvraj can express himself freely’

# Rohit Sharma became the third Indian player to complete 1000 runs in Twenty20 – his aggregate being 1010 runs at an average of 34.82 in 47 matches, joining Virat Kohli (1215) and Suresh Raina (1073).

PHOTOS: India complete whitewash

# Sharma’s ninth fifty in T20Is is his third vs Australia.

# Sharma is averaging 48.28 in a winning cause in T20Is – his aggregate being 676 in 28 matches, including eight fifties.

Also Read: Gavaskar bats for Yuvraj

# Shane Watson has received his ninth Man of the Match award in T20Is – his second vs India.

# Watson has posted his first century in T20Is.

Also Read: Who said what

# His unbeaten 124 is the highest individual innings by any batsman on captaincy debut in this format, eclipsing RickyPonting’s unbeaten 98 for Australia vs New Zealand at Auckland on February 17, 2005.

# Watson is the second Australian player to post a century in T20Is. Aaron Finch was the first to accomplish the distinction  – 156 vs England at Southampton on August 29, 2013. These two knocks are the highest individual innings in T20Is.

# Watson is the first batsman to post a hundred in T20Is in Australia, eclipsing Damien Martyn’s 96 vs South Africa at Brisbane on January 9, 2006.

# Watson’s fantastic innings is the highest in a losing cause in T20Is.

Only three other batsmen have hit hundreds in a losing cause – Faf du Plessis, Chris Gayle and Rohit Sharma.

# Virat Kohli’s brilliant 50 is his third fifty vs Australia – his 12th in T20Is. He became the first batsman to record three consecutive fifties in a bilateral series in T20Is – 90 not out at Adelaide, 59 not out at Melbourne and 50 at Sydney.

# Kohli became the first batsman to notch three half centuries in a bilateral series. His tally of 199 (ave.199.00) is a record for a three-match bilateral series in T20Is.

# Kohli’s tally of 12 fifty-plus innings is exceeded only by Brendon McCullum (15) and Chris Gayle (14).

# India have won eight and lost four matches out of 12 T2OIs contested vs Australia – success % 66.66.

# India (200 for three) have recorded their second highest total vs Australia in T20Is behind the 202 for four at Rajkot on 10-10-2013
# India’s above total is their third highest successful chase in T20I behind the 211/4 vs S. Lanka at Mohali on 12-12-2009 and 202 for four vs Australia at Rajkot on 10-10-2013,

# Australia (197 for five) have registered their second highest total vs India in T20Is next only to the 201 for 7 at Rajkot on October 10, 2013.

# A team has won all three matches in a bilateral series for the fifth time in T20Is – the first four instances being Ireland vs Kenya in 2011-12; Bangladesh vs Ireland in 2012;

# Australia vs England in 2013-14 and England vs Pakistan in 2015-16. England had won the first two games vs Pakistan at Dubai (DSC) before winning the Sharjah T20I in one-over eliminator after the same got tied.

# For the first time, India have won five consecutive matches vs Australia in T20Is – by 6 wickets at Rajkot on October 10, 2013; by 73 runs at Dhaka on March 30, 2014; by 37 runs at Adelaide on January 26, 2016, by 27 runs at Melbourne on January 29, 2016 and by 7 wickets at Sydney on January 31, 2016.

# India have registered their first last-ball win while batting second in T20Is – the 15th instance overall.

# Shaun Tait (4-0-46-0) has recorded his worst bowling performance in T20Is, eclipsing the 4-0-45-0 vs India at Adelaide on January 26, 2016. In all, he has finished wicketless six times out of 21 matches.

# Virat Kohli has received his third Player of the Series award in T20Is – vs Sri Lanka in 2012; World Twenty20 in 2013-14 and vs Australia in 2015-16.

# Kohli (5046 at an average of 36.56 in 178 matches) is now the third Indian player after Suresh Raina (5797) and Rohit Sharma (5366) to complete 5,000 runs in Twenty20.

# Andrew Tye (4-0-51-0) is the first Australian bowler to concede 50 runs without taking a single wicket in T20Is.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App