Follow Us:
Thursday, October 22, 2020

ICC World Test Championship Points Table: India hold top position, England closes gap with Australia

ICC World Test Championship Points Table 2019-21 Standings: England are just four points away from Australia, who stand at the second place with 296 points.

By: Sports Desk | Updated: September 14, 2020 11:26:05 am
icc test championship, icc test championship 2019, icc test championship points table, icc test championship table, icc test championship table 2019, world test championship, world test championship points table, world test championship standings, world test championship standings 2019, world test championship points table 2019 India stands at top of the points table of the World Test Championship. (Source: AP)

ICC World Test Championship Points Table 2019-21: After securing series win against West Indies and Pakistan, Joe Root-led England have climbed to the third spot on the points table of the World Test Championship. The team are just four points away from Australia, who stand at the second place with 296 points.

Meanwhile, India continues to the pole position on the table with a total of 360 points from nine matches. Since the Covid-19 hiatus India are yet to play an international fixture. Meanwhile, New Zealand who last secured an impressive series win against the Virat Kohli unit have slipped to the fourth position.

Team Matches Win Lose Tie Draw N/R Points
India 9 7 2 0 0 0 360
Australia 10 7 2 0 1 0 296
England 15 8 4 0 3 0 292
New Zealand 7 3 4 0 0 0 180
Pakistan 8 2 3 0 3 0 166
Sri Lanka 4 1 2 0 1 0 80
West Indies 5 1 4 0 0 0 40
South Africa  7 1 6 0 0 0 24
Bangladesh 3 0 3 0 0 0 0

The nine teams involved in the World Test Championship will play nine bilateral series. Of these 9 bilateral series, six will be played at home and three away from home. The teams will be marked on the points table according to the result of a match, and not the series.

The points awarded to the team for winning a single Test will depend on the number of matches in the Test series. For example, India were awarded 60 points for winning the first Test against West Indies because the series had two Tests. If the next Test match ends in a draw or no result, both teams will gain 30 points each. In the event of a draw, both teams get 20 points each.

On the other hand, if it’s a five-Test series like the Ashes, the team winning the Test will get 24 points, 12 if there is a tie or no result and eight if it’s a tie.


📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.