Follow Us:
Friday, July 20, 2018

ICC World T20: India – The story so far

India won the inaugural World T20 competition but faltered at the super-eight stage in the next three. In 2014, India were runners up.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: March 9, 2016 9:27:15 pm
World T20, World T20 news, World T20 updates, World T20 scores, India, India win, India World T20, MS Dhoni, Indian team, sports news, sports, cricket, Cricket India won the inaugural World T20 played in 2007. (Source: Reuters)

With long formats of the game losing sheen and eyeballs around the world, cricketing authorities decided to introduce a ‘fun’ format comprising of 20 overs to be played in both innings. After the first international in 2005 played between Australia and New Zealand, a 16-team tournament was introduced for 2007 to be hosted by South Africa.

ALSO READ: India’s road to glory in ICC World T20 2007

India started their journey into World T20s in the most successful way. They emerged victorious in the first edition after beating arch rivals Pakistan to lift the trophy by 5 runs under MS Dhoni’s captaincy.

But the Men in Blue were not able to repeat their heroics in the later editions. In 2009, India were eliminated in the super-eight stages after losing all three games in this stage against West Indies, South Africa and England. The 2009 World T20 took place in England and was won by Pakistan.

ALSO READ: ICC World T20: Kolkata to host India-Pakistan match instead of Dharamsala

The Calypso islands hosted the 2010 World T20 where the same old story was repeated by Indian team. They were again out of the contest in the super-eight stages after losing all three super-eight matches against Australia, Sri Lanka and West Indies. England went on to win the tournament.

In the 2012 edition, played in Sri Lanka, India crashed out again in the super-eight after having their chances reduced due to a poor net run rate. India did beat South Africa in the super-eight but it wasn’t enough to make the semi-finals. Later West Indies defeated Sri Lanka to clinch victory in the final.

ALSO READ: Anurag Thakur slams Himachal Pradesh CM for drama in Dharamsala

Bangladesh got a chance to host World T20 in 2014. India and Sri Lanka made it to the Final but Sri Lanka emerged triumphant to win their first ever Twenty20 World cup.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App