ICC Women’s World T20: India vs Pakistan statistical previewhttps://indianexpress.com/article/sports/cricket/icc-womens-world-t20-india-vs-pakistan-statistical-preview-5440454/

ICC Women’s World T20: India vs Pakistan statistical preview

Every time Harmanpreet Kaur has played in an Indo-Pak contest, women in blue have emerged victorious.

India vs Pakistan, Women's Asia Cup
India have reached the final of the Women’s Asia Cup. (Source: PTI)

The sixth edition of the  Women’s World T20 has begun with aplomb. India captain Harmanpreet Kaur lit up the opening day with a scintillating hundred. However, India’s record in the tournament has not been eye-catching as they have reached the semis twice but could never progress beyond the first round in the succeeding tournaments. In this edition, teams have been divided into two groups of 5 teams each. England, South Africa, West Indies, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are in Group A. Group B comprises India, Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and Ireland. Only the top 2 teams from each group qualify for the semi-Finals.

With momentum on its side, the Indian eves look forward to improving their performance in the World T20 but one team will look to stop them in their path- arch-rivals Pakistan. The Indian women’s team will be overwhelming favourites against arch-rivals Pakistan in its second group league encounter of the ICC World T20 At Guyana on Sunday.

However, the last time these two sides met in T20 World Cup in 2016, India lost the match. However, since that loss in Delhi, India have played Pakistan thrice across two editions of Asia Cup, winning all the battles.

ALSO READ | PREVIEW: India look to continue dominance at World T20 vs Pakistan


Interesting numbers also point out to that every time Harmanpreet Kaur has played in an Indo-Pak contest, the women in blue have emerged victorious. Former skipper Mithali Raj has a record of 2 wins and 2 losses.

In Women’s World T20 both the teams have met each other five times where India has won 3 and lost 2.

In Women’s T20 International, India have won eight times while Pakistan has won only twice. Thereby, India has a win percentage of 80 %.

Mithali Raj is the highest scorer with 259 runs. She is followed by Sana Mir who has hit 146 runs. Diana Baig has the best strike rate- 150

Among bowlers, Ekta Bisht has the most number of wickets- 10. While Urooj Mumtaz recorded the best economy rate- 2.71.

india vs pakistan, india womens cricket womens cricket, india womens, icc womens championships, pakistan womens cricket, cricket news, sports news
In 2016, Pakistan beat India by 2 runs in Delhi.

India vs Pakistan last five encounters (WT20)- 

13 Jun 2009, Taunton- India chased down a small total of 76 in 17.4 ovs.

8 May 2010, Basseterre- Once again India dominated the match and chased down a target of 105 with nine wickets in hand.

1 Oct 2012, Galle- This time Pakistan defended a target of 99 and restricted the Indian eves to 97/8 in 20 ovs

2 Apr 2014, Sylhet- India batted first and set a target of 107. They restricted Pakistan to 100/9 in 20 ovs to win the match.

19 Mar 2016, Delhi- Pakistan won by 2 runs (D/L method). Batting first India could only score 96/7. In reply Pakistan were 77/6 in 16 ovs when rain stopped play and the women in green were declared winners on the basis of DLS.


India: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Jemimah Rodrigues, Smriti Mandhana, Taniya Bhatia, Ekta Bisht, Dayalan Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Veda Krishnamurthy, Anuja Patil, Poonam Yadav, Mithali Raj, Arundhati Reddy, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Radha Yadav.


Pakistan: Javeria Khan (captain), Aiman Anwer, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Zafar, Bismah Maroof, Diana Baig, Muneeba Ali, Nahida Khan, Nashra Sandhu, Natalia Pervaiz, Nida Dar, Sana Mir, Sidra Nawaz, Umaima Sohail.