Follow Us:
Sunday, July 15, 2018

ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma to miss India’s first warm-up match against New Zealand

Yuvraj Singh, who is making a comeback to Champions Trophy after 11 years, will miss India's first warm-up match due to viral fever.

By: Express Web Desk | Updated: May 28, 2017 12:42:32 am

With the 2017 edition of the ICC Champions Trophy slated to begin from June 1, the defending champions India take on New Zealand in their first warm-up match before the league stage starts. Ahead of their warm-up match, team India will miss the services of all-rounder Yuvraj Singh after the left-handed batsman was ruled out due to viral fever.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) medical team confirmed that the 35-year old is down with viral fever and is making steady progress.

“There are no major health concerns and Yuvraj is recuperating well, to the satisfaction of the medical team,” BCCI official said.

Opener Rohit Sharma will also miss the warm-up match as he is yet to join the Indian squad in London. Yuvraj and Rohit were the only two players to miss the two training sessions India have had on Friday and on Saturday. Rohit didn’t travel with the team as he had to attend his brother’s wedding.

Yuvraj is making his comeback to the Champions Trophy after 11 years and will be playing his fifth ICC tournament. Yuvraj’s presence along with MS Dhoni provides strength to India’s middle order. He made a sensational debut in the 2002 edition and featured in all events until 2006, before missing the 2009 and 2013 editions.

The Virat Kohli-led side will start their ICC Champions Trophy campaign against arch-rivals Pakistan on June 4 at Birmingham. Indian squad consists of Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Yuvraj, Ravindra Jadeja, Manish Pandey, R Ashwin, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Dinesh Karthik and Kedar Jadhav.

Team India is placed in group B along with Pakistan, Sri Lanka and South Africa while Group A consist of Australia, England, New Zealand and Bangladesh.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App