scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Saturday, January 16, 2021

I would still give him out: Ian Gould on infamous Sachin Tendulkar LBW decision vs Pakistan

Sachin Tendulkar's overturned lbw decision in the 2011 World Cup semifinal vs Pakistan continues to cause controversy, years after the incident. Ian Gould, the umpire who gave the decision, says he stands by what he did.

By: Sports Desk | Updated: April 27, 2020 2:12:47 pm
sachin tendulkar, sachin tendulkar lbw, sachin tendulkar pakistan, sachin tendulakr birthday, sachin tendulkar 2011 world cup, india vs pakistan cricket, india 2011 world cup, india pakistan world cup cricket, cricket news, sachin tendulkar saeed ajmal, sachin tendulkar ian gould, indian cricket team, indian cricket news, sachin tendulkar news Sachin Tendulkar was given out lbw when on 23 in the 2011 World Cup semifinal. He would go on to score a critical 85. (Screengrab)

Umpire Ian Gould, reflecting on his decision to give Sachin Tendulkar out lbw in the 2011 World Cup semifinal vs Pakistan – a decision which would then be overturned before Sachin went on to score a match-winning 85 – said he would probably do the same thing if he was given a second chance now.

“When I gave him out at Mohali, I’m thinking this is out. I will sit here and guarantee you, if I see it again, I’d still give it out, simple as that. He talked to Gambhir and looked like he was going to walk out, and I’m thinking thank God for that, then he spun on his heels and made that T sign and the world stopped,” Gould told BBC 5 Live Sport.

“Eventually, (third umpire) Billy Bowden told me ‘It’s missing leg, I need you to change your decision.’ Well, no disrespect to him, but I was watching on a 90-foot screen showing me it was missing leg by an inch so I didn’t really need his analysis,” he added.

Replays had showed that the ball pitched in line but Hawkeye predicted that it would have missed Sachin’s leg stump.

“All I saw was a quicker ball from Ajmal and it thudded into the pads and went to square leg. It was just right, he’s out. Sorry, you’re out. I don’t care who you are, Sachin or anybody, you’re out,” Gould said.

READ | Tendulkar benefits from DRS which he had opposed

Gould’s decision and the overturn came in the 11th over of the match, bowled by Saeed Ajmal. Tendulkar was on 23 then. He would then go on to anchor the Indian innings till the 37th over. India would win the match by 29 runs.

This overturned lbw decision has caused controversy before as well. Saeed Ajmal himself had said many years after the incident that he is still perplexed about how the DRS showed that the ball would have been missing the stumps.

“I was 110% confident when the referral was made that the batsman was out,” Ajmal had said.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement