England through to Champions Trophy semis after 87-run win over New Zealand in Cardiff

England, after a comprehensive 87-run win over New Zealand in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 contest in Cardiff, are through to the semi-final stage of the tournament. They still have a game to play and next take on arch-rivals Australia, who are yet to play a full match.

Match EndedICC Champions Trophy, 2017 - Match 6


310 (49.3)

New Zealand

223 (44.3)
Match Ended ( Day - Match 6 )
England beat New Zealand by 87 runs
By: Express Web Desk | Updated: June 6, 2017 11:22:04 pm
england vs new zealand live score, eng vs nz live score, eng vs nz live streaming, live cricket score, icc champions trophy 2017, kane williamson, cricket news England have won both their matches in Champions Trophy. They next play Australia.

Another comprehensive win for England puts them in the ICC Champions Trophy semis. The hosts, after two wins in their first two matches, are the first team to book the spot. Defending 311, the Eoin Morgan-led unit was disciplined with the ball and bowled out New Zealand for 223. Plunkett, with figures of 4/55, was pick of the bowlers for the hosts.

England vs New Zealand ICC Champions Trophy 2017: As it happened

New Zealand 223 all out. Shaky start, solid outing in middle overs and then the collapse…New Zealand, chasing 311, were looking very good with the Ross Taylor-Kane Williamson stand but the pair’s departure in quick succession put them on the mat and Plunkett did a fine job during that period for England.

Innings break: England bowled out for 310 against New Zealand in Cardiff. After a solid start, England had a decent outing in the middle overs but continue to lose wickets at regular intervals in the last 15 overs. Corey Anderson’s spell was the difference maker as the seamer scalped three crucial wickets. In the final overs, Jos Buttler fired a 48-ball 61 to power the total over the 300-run mark. Here are the teams:

England XI: Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Liam Plunkett, Jake Ball, Mark Wood

New Zealand XI: Martin Guptill, Luke Ronchi, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Neil Broom, Jimmy Neesham, Corey Anderson, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Trent Boult

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App