Deodhar Trophy 2019 Highlights: India B defeat India A by 108 runs

Deodhar Trophy 2019 Highlights: Owing to Ruturaj Gaikwad and Baba Aparajith's centuries, India B defeated India A by a resounding 108 runs.

Deodhar Trophy 2019 Highlights: After an eventful Vijay Hazare Trophy, the Deodhar Trophy kicked off at JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi on Thursday, with

India B’s triumph over India A by 108 runs.

India B opener Ruturaj Gaikwad smashed an impressive 113 and Baba Aparajith followed it with an impressive 101. Put to bat first, India B put 302/6 in 50 overs. Chasing a target of 303, Hanuma Vihari-led India A started crumbling from the first, losing wickets in the first ten overs itself. Despite a brave 59-run knock by the captain, India A just couldn’t withstand the bowling attack of Roosh Kalaria and Mohammed Siraj, as they were bundled for 194.

Live Blog

Deodhar Trophy 2019 Highlights:

16:27 (IST)31 Oct 2019

Roosh Kalaria landed the final blow to India A, to hand India B an emphatic 108-run win! Shahbaz Ahmed was bowled and with Sandeep Warrier injuring himself earlier in the day, that's all over for India A for 194 in 47.2 overs. 

16:24 (IST)31 Oct 2019
India B win by 108 runs

With an impressive batting display followed by a bowling show, India B managed to beat India A by a huge margin on 108 runs. Chasing a target of 303, India A were bundled up for just 194 in 47.2 overs. 

16:04 (IST)31 Oct 2019
All but over?

After Jaydev Unadkat was runout by Parthiv Patel, almost all hopes have been lost for the whimpering India A. Shahbaz Ahmed and Siddarth Kaul hang on. They now need a near impossible 119 runs from 30 balls. IND A are 184/8 after 45 overs. 

15:46 (IST)31 Oct 2019

With the final ball of his innings, Krihsnappa Gowtham traps Ravichandran Ashwin and sends the veteran back for a duck. All hopes lost for India A? They need 134 runs from just 60 balls. IND A are 169/7 after 40 overs. 

15:44 (IST)31 Oct 2019

Roosh Kalaria completely turns the game around on its head as he dismisses both Ishan Kishan (26) and Hanuma Vihari (59) in the space of three balls. While the former was runout by the combination of Vijay Shankar and Kalaria, the latter was caught behind. All eyes on Ravichandran Ashwin and Shahbaz Ahmed now. IND A are 168/6 after 39 overs. 

15:18 (IST)31 Oct 2019
Hope with Hanuma

With just 17 overs left, India A still need 161 runs with six wickets in hand. Now the team is pinning hopes on Hanuma Vihari who has reached his fifty but the rising asking rate is putting them under tremendous pressure. 

14:54 (IST)31 Oct 2019
India A lose their 4th wicket

Chasing a 303-run target, India A have started feeling the pressure as poor coordination between the batsmen cost them another wicket. Aparajith to Hanuma Vihari, out Amandeep Khare Run Out!! That's a brilliant piece of fielding from Jadhav and Amandeep Khare will have to depart.  Amandeep Khare run out (Kedar Jadhav) 25(39) India A 112/4 in 28 overs.

14:39 (IST)31 Oct 2019
India A still need 215 runs

With wickets falling at regular intarvals, India B have made it tough for India A to make runs. After 23 overs, India A are 84/3. India B were 105/2 at this time. India A still need 215 runs.

14:06 (IST)31 Oct 2019

After a couple of boundaries into the partnership, the third wicket falls for the A team, as Vishnu Vinod is dismissed by Mohammed Siraj. He departs for 11 after being caught behind by Parthiv Patel. IND A are 52/3 after 13.4 overs.

13:56 (IST)31 Oct 2019

Sheer pace uproots the wicket and it's Abhimanyu Easwaran's time to walk off. Mohammed Siraj scalps the second wicket for India B. The batsman departs for 20. Hanuma Vihari is on. IND A are 42/2 after 11.1 overs.

13:44 (IST)31 Oct 2019

A stinger of a delivery from Roosh Kalaria and Devdutt Padikkal is bowled after an inside edge makes him unlucky! He departs having scored 10 from 24 balls. IND A are 32/1 after 9 overs.

13:38 (IST)31 Oct 2019
Slow and steady

A steady start from India A have seen them forming a partnership between Abhimanyu Easwaran and Devdutt Padikkal. The runrate's quite slow, but they will take it with both of them slowly touching the double figures. Padikkal hit Mohammed Siraj for a boundary in the over, with the team getting eight runs from the over. IND A are 31/0 after 8 overs. 

13:03 (IST)31 Oct 2019
India A start their run chase

Abhimanyu Easwaran and Padikkal are at the middle to start India A's run chase. R Kalaria is opening the bowling attack. India A need 303 in 50 overs. 

12:31 (IST)31 Oct 2019
India A need 303 runs to win

A  late blistering show by Vijay Shankar guided India B to 302/6 in 50 overs, although he did get dismissed on the last ball by Jaydev Unadkat. Krishnappa Gowtham remained unbeaten on 19* from 8 balls. Huge contributions from Ruturaj Gaikwad (113) and Baba Aparajith (101). India A now need to chase a massive 303 runs. 

12:17 (IST)31 Oct 2019

After scoring 31 runs, and his century in style after hitting a classy boundary and then a single, Baba Aparajith is dismissed by Ravichandran Ashwin's accurate throw. A runout brings a close to his innings of 101 from 101 balls. A six follows from Vijay Shankar, as India B look to cross the 300-run mark. IND B are 272/5 after 48 overs.

11:56 (IST)31 Oct 2019
Ashwin gets Kedar Jadhav's wicket

Kedar Jadhav came in at a time when the team needed quick runs to put a challenging total on the board and in a bid to accelerate the run rate, he lost his wicket to R Ashwin. India B lost their fourth wicket as Jadhav departed for just 5. India B 231/4 in 44 overs.

11:48 (IST)31 Oct 2019
R Ashwin claims Ruturaj's wicket

Finally, after a 158-run partnership, R Ashwin bagged Ruturaj's wicket. He got out for 113 runs off 122 balls. Ashwin to Ruturaj Gaikwad, out Lbw!! Ashwin comes back into the attack and gets rid of the centurion.  India B are 223/3 in 42 overs. 

11:31 (IST)31 Oct 2019
Ruturaj hits 100*

What an innings it is from India B opener Ruturaj Gaikwad.  Smashed an impressive 100 off 117 balls. He stood strong since beginning and made India A bowlers toil hard for wickets despite the early loss of Priyank Panchal and Yashasvi Jaiswal. He and Baba Aparajith have stitched a 124-run partnership so far and taking the team's total to 187/2 in 38 overs.

10:35 (IST)31 Oct 2019
Ruturaj hits fifty

India B opener Ruturaj Gaikwad has been impressive so far as he singlehandedly taking the team score towards a decent total. He has made 52 so far. Despite early wickets of Priyank Panchal and Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj continued making runs. After 25 overs, India B are 113/2

10:04 (IST)31 Oct 2019
Yashasvi falls for 31

Yashasvi Jaiswal caught by Ashwin off Sidhharth Kaul's ball. He's lost focus, and he's thrown it away. Jaiswal clears out his front leg in the hope to hoick it downtown, but loses shape, loses timing, and miscues a skier to mid-off. Yashasvi Jaiswal 31(34). After 15 overs India B are 65/2.