Follow Us:
Thursday, June 24, 2021

Delhi enter Vijay Hazare semis despite MS Dhoni’s unbeaten 70

MS Dhoni's unbeaten 70 didn't get enough support from other end as Jharkhand, chasing Delhi's 225, fell 99 runs short.

By: PTI | Bengaluru |
December 23, 2015 5:16:49 pm
MS Dhoni, MS Dhoni Vijay Hazare Trophy, Delhi Vijay hazare, Delhi vs Jharkhand, Delhi Jharkhand, Cricket News, Cricket MS Dhoni remained unbeaten on 70. (Source: PTI)

Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s unbeaten half-century went in vain as Delhi notched up a comprehensive 99-run victory against Jharkhand in a lop-sided second quarterfinal of the Vijay Hazare trophy at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Wednesday.

Chasing 226 to win, Dhoni stood amid the ruins with an 108-ball 70-run innings which was studded with five boundaries and four sixes. The Indian limited overs skipper didn’t find any support from the other end with only Kaushal Singh (11) and Ankit Dabas (16) managing a double figure.

Suboth Bhati (4/21) and Navdeep Saini (3/31) shared seven wickets, while Ishant Sharma scalped two wickets and Pawan Negi took one to completely derail Jharkhand’s chase.

Put into bat, Delhi rode on some useful contributions from its top order and lower-middle order to post 225 in their stipulated 50 overs but it proved enough as Jharkhand never looked in the chase, despite a fine innings by Dhoni.

Earlier put into bat, Rishabh Pant (24) and Shikhar Dhawan (27) gave Delhi a good start, sharing 53 runs for the opening partnership before Dabas dismissed the former. Dhawan too was sent back to the hut after a few overs by Dabas with Dhoni producing a brilliant stumping.

Gautam Gambhir (20) and Milind Kumar (0) were then sent packing in the 24th over bowled by fast bowler Varon Aaron as Delhi was reduced to 92 for four. While Gambhir was run out, Milind was caught behind by Dhoni.

Unmukt Chand too could not stay longer and he was removed by Aaron in the 28th over.

Nitish Rana (44) and Manan Sharma (21) then shared a 74-run vital stand before both the batsmen fall prey to Rahul Shukla in the 46th over.

P Negi then blasted 38 off 16 balls with the help of three fours and as many sixes to take Delhi across the 200-mark.

For Jharkhand, Shukla (3/60), AM Dabas (2/46) and Aaron (2/43) were the wicket-takers.

Brief Score: Delhi 225 allout in 50 overs (N Rana 44; R Shukla 3/60) Jharkhand 126 allout in 38 overs (M S Dhoni 70; S Bhati 4/21)

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.