scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Thursday, April 15, 2021

Charles Coventry thanks Aiden Markram for running out Fakhar Zaman 1 run short of his ‘record’

In 2009, Charles Coventry had smashed an unbeaten 194, which was then the joint-highest ODI score along with Saeed Anwar's 194. It remains the highest individual ODI score in a losing cause, one run more than Fakhar Zaman's titanic effort vs South Africa on Sunday.

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: April 6, 2021 7:41:36 am
Charles Coventry's 194 remains the record for the highest ODI innings in a losing cause.

Former Zimbabwe cricketer Charles Coventry ‘thanked’ South Africa’s Aiden Markram for the direct hit which ended Pakistan opening batsman Fakhar Zaman’s sensational innings on 193 in the second ODI on Sunday. Coventry, who scored 194 in an ODI in 2009, remains the holder of the record for the highest ODI knock in a losing cause.

Coventry said in a humorous fashion that he felt relaxed after Zaman got out on 193, also conceding that he wasn’t proud of his ‘record’.

“Thank you @AidzMarkram #sscricket #194,” Coventry tweeted.

“Not proud but nevertheless a record,” he said in another tweet while replying to a fan.

In 2009, during Bangladesh’s tour of Zimbabwe, Coventry had smashed an unbeaten 194. It was then the joint-highest ODI score by a batsman, along with Saeed Anwar’s 194. However, Tamim Iqbal overshadowed his knock, slamming a match-winning 154 to take Bangladesh over the line in the match.

On Sunday, Fakhar Zaman’s valiant 193-run knock was ended off the first ball of the final over as a direct hit from Markram from long-off caught him short of his crease. The left-handed batsman not only missed out on a double hundred but also failed to take Pakistan over the line in their chase of 342.

READ | ‘Fault was mine, not Quinton’s’: Fakhar Zaman on his controversial run-out

Zaman’s run out sparked controversy with several former cricketers blaming wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock for violating the ‘Fake Fielding’ law. However, a day later the Pakistani opener tried to douse the flames saying that the dismissal was his fault.

“The fault was mine as I was too busy looking out for Haris Rauf at the other end as I felt he’d started off a little late from his crease, so I thought he was in trouble. The rest is up to the match referee, but I don’t think it’s Quinton’s fault,” the 30-year-old told ESPNCricinfo in the post-match press conference.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
x