Follow Us:
Friday, March 05, 2021

BPL 2019 Final, Dhaka Dynamites vs Comilla Victorians: Tamim Iqbal’s 141 spurs Victorians to second BPL title

BPL 2019 Final, Dhaka Dynamites vs Comilla Victorians: Comilla Victorians emerged victorious in the finals of Bangladesh Premier League

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: February 8, 2019 10:25:31 pm
BPL 2019 Final, Dhaka Dynamites vs Comilla Victorians: The BPL 2019 final was played at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

Comilla Victorians emerged victorious in the finals of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2019 on Friday after beating Dhaka Dynamites by 17 runs. Led by Bangladesh’s Imrul Kayes, Victorians posted a challenging 199/3. Tamim Iqbal was the architect in chief with a blazing 141 of just 61 balls.

Chasing 200, the Dynamites lost Sunil Narine early but from thereon Rony Talukdar and Upul Tharanga continued the chase. However, losing wickets at regular intervals proved to be the downfall for Dynamites as they were restricted to 182/9 in 20 overs. Tamim Iqbal was adjudged as the man of the match for his brilliant hundred.

Live Blog

BPL 2019 Final, Comilla Victorians vs Dhaka Dynamites: Highlights

22:15 (IST)08 Feb 2019
Comilla Victorians win by 17 runs

That's it! All Over- Comilla Victorians have won the BPL 2019 Final by 17 runs. Dhaka are restricted to 182/9. Victorians lift the cup for the second time. Tamim Iqbal's 141 of just 61 balls made the difference.

22:04 (IST)08 Feb 2019

Wahab Riaz picks up his thrid wicket as Nurul Hasan knick the ball towards the keeper.  

22:01 (IST)08 Feb 2019
Dhaka Dynamites require 33 in 12 deliveries

Mahmudul Hasan smashes back to back sixes as Dhaka Dynamites now require 33 in 12 deliveries. 

21:55 (IST)08 Feb 2019

Seventh wicket falls for Dhaka Dynamites as Shuvagata Hom departs for a duck.

21:48 (IST)08 Feb 2019
Tidy over by Wahab Riaz

Tight over by Wahab as only one run comes of it. Good line and length. DD: 142/6 (16 overs), Dhaka Dynamites need 58 runs in 24 balls

21:44 (IST)08 Feb 2019

What a comeback by Victorians as Wahab Riaz sends Pollard back to pavilion on 13 off 15 balls.  

21:34 (IST)08 Feb 2019

Perera strikes as Andre Russel departs after scoring 4. Victorians have crawled their way back into the contest by picking up 3 wickets in the last four overs. 

21:27 (IST)08 Feb 2019
Run Out

That's wicket number 4 and the danger man Rony Talukdar departs after scoring 66 in 38 deliveries. 

21:22 (IST)08 Feb 2019

Wahab Riaz is once again brought into the attack and he strikes in his first delivery. A back of a length delivery and Shakib goes for a big hit but mistimes his shot. The ball skews up in the air and Tamim Iqbal takes a great running catch to send the skipper back to the pavilion on 3.

21:12 (IST)08 Feb 2019

Some relief for Comilla Victorians as Thisara Perera breaks the 102-run stand between Tharanga and Talukdar. The Sri Lankan cricketer, who was connecting the ball properly, went for another big hit towards long-on. However, this time he fails to connect and the ball goes straight to substitute fielder Abu Hider, who makes no mistake. The batsman departs after scoring 48 off 27 deliveries. DD: 102/2 (9 overs) 

20:54 (IST)08 Feb 2019
End of powerplay

Dhaka Dynamites make great use of the field restrictions as Upul Tharanga and Rony Talukdar score 71 runs at the end of six overs

20:47 (IST)08 Feb 2019
50 up for Dhaka

Tharanga smashes Wahab Riaz's pitched up delivery on the leg side for a six over deep square leg. With this maximum, Dhaka bring up their fifty in  just 4.2 overs.  

20:38 (IST)08 Feb 2019

A clean hit by Rony Talukdar as he smashes Saifuddin for a six over the long off boundary. After losing Narine in the first over,  Talukdar along with Tharanga help Dhaka reach 29/1 at the end of 3 overs.  

20:28 (IST)08 Feb 2019
Narine run out for duck

Just the start Victorians would have hoped for. The openers try to steal a quick single but Narine fails to complete his ground as he departs for duck without even facing a single delivery. DD: 0/1 (0.2 overs) 

20:24 (IST)08 Feb 2019
Action Resumes

Upul Tharanga and Sunil Narine are out in the middle to start the chase. Mohammad Saifuddin will bowl the first over for Victorians

20:08 (IST)08 Feb 2019
COV: 199/3 (20 overs)

Tamim Iqbal's century helps Comilla Victorians reach 199 in the 20 overs. Tamim was unbeaten on 141 off 61 balls, while his partner Imrul Kayes scored 17 in 21 deliveries.  

20:02 (IST)08 Feb 2019
Tamim Iqbal deals in sixes

Tamim Iqbal is dealing in sixes as he hits the ball over long-on for another six.  He has already hit 10 sixes in the innings. COV: 189/3 (19 overs) 

19:54 (IST)08 Feb 2019
Tamil Iqbal completes ton

No one can stop Tamim Iqbal today as the batsman smashes Andre Russell for a boundary to bring up his century. It seems that the Bangladesh batsman had saved his best for the judgement day. 

19:45 (IST)08 Feb 2019
Tamim Iqbal is on fire

Tamim Iqbal is on fire as he smashes two fours and two sixes in the five deliveries he faced in Rubel Hossain's over. Excellent over for the Victorians as 23 runs come from it. COV: 137/3 (15 overs)

19:37 (IST)08 Feb 2019
Run Out

A miscommunication between Tamim and Shamsur Rahman has cost the latter his wicket. It was Tamim's call and before he turned it down it was too late for Shamsur, who was well outside his ground. Shakib produced a brilliant piece of fielding as he runs and fires and under-arm throw at the striking end. The batsman is dismissed on duck. 


Dhaka Dynamites: Ian Bell, Shahadat Hossain, Upul Tharanga, Shakib Al Hasan (c), Kieron Pollard, Heino Kuhn, Rubel Hossain, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Shuvagata Hom, Andrew Birch, Nurul Hasan (wk), Mahmudul Hasan, Rony Talukdar, Asif Hasan, Rovman Powell, Hazratullah Zazai, Darwish Rasooli, Qazi Onik, Mohammad Naim, Mizanur Rahman, Mohor Sheikh, Aliss Islam

Comilla Victorians: Shahid Afridi, Tamim Iqbal, Wahab Riaz, Mosharraf Hossain, Imrul Kayes, Shamsur Rahman, Thisara Perera, Liam Dawson, Ziaur Rahman, Anamul Haque, Abu Hider Rony, Evin Lewis, Mohammad Shahid, Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Saifuddin, Sanjit Saha, Mahedi Hasan, Waqar Salamkheil