BCCI plans day-night cricket in Duleep Trophy

BCCI Technical panel to consider organising the Duleep Trophy matches with pink ball.

By: PTI | Mumbai | Updated: January 5, 2016 6:32:44 pm
New Delhi: Chief selector Sandeep Patil with BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur during a news conference after a selection committee meeting to pick the India squad for Australia tour, in New Delhi on Saturday. PTI Photo by Shahbaz Khan (PTI12_19_2015_000268A) BCCI Technical Panel considers to organise Duleep Trophy with Pink Ball. (Sources: PTI)

Taking a cue from the success of the first Day-Night Test in Adelaide last year, the Tour and Program Fixtures Committee has recommended to the BCCI Technical panel to consider organising the Duleep Trophy matches with pink ball.

In a meeting in Mumbai on Tuesday, the Tour and Program Fixtures Committee also discussed various options to bring more fans to Test matches in the coming season, according to a BCCI release.

During the 2016-17 season India are slated to play a total of 13 Test matches, 10 One-day Internationals and one T20I’s against Bangladesh, New Zealand, England and Australia.

The day-night Test fever is catching on and after Australia successfully hosted the first first pink-ball match in the longer format against New Zealand, CA (Cricket Australia) is also mulling a day-night game against England in the Ashes of 2017-18.

Across the border, Pakistan are also keen on Cricket Australia’s Day-Night Test offer in December 2016 and has also discussed the possibility of using the pink ball for the final of the in domestic Quaid-e-Azam trophy.

Rayudu, Unmukt to lead India ‘A’ and ‘B’ in Deodhar Trophy

Baroda batsman Ambati Rayudu has been appointed captain of the India ‘A’ side in the upcoming Deodhar Trophy, while Delhi’s Unmukt Chand will lead India ‘B’ in the three-team event.


India’A’: Murali Vijay, Jalaj Saxena, Mandeep Singh, Ambati Rayudu (C), Kedar Jadhav, Naman Ojha, Parvez Rasool, Amit Mishra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddharth Kaul, Sreenath Aravind, Varun Aaron, Krishna Das, Sudip Chatterjee, Faiz Fazal

India ‘B’: Unmukt Chand (C), Mayank Agarwal, Baba Aparajith, Shreyas Iyer, Sheldon Jackson, Dinesh Karthik, Stuart Binny, Karn Sharma, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Nathu Singh, Shardul Thakur, Pawan Negi, Sachin Baby, Suryakumar Yadav.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App